R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2008, 12:14 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default AE customer service is A++++++

As many of you know that the RC8 has had some fuel tank problems. Well i bought a used RC8 that was like new and never seen dirt and it had the smoke colored tank in it. This past weekend i raced a local big race here in Dallas Tx called the Lone Star Classic at Indy's RC World in Garland, Tx. During my 2nd round of qualifiying my smoke colored tank busted so i bought a new RC8 tank White colored) and put it on before the 3rd round, well right before the 3rd round i filled it up and when putting the body on I noticed that fuel was every where got to looking and seen the top of the tank all cracked where the lid attaches and where the springs are at so i took it back and they had one more left and before i even took it out of the package i seen the cracks in the top of the tank so the only other choice i had was to put a RC8T tank and measure my fuel out for the last 10min qualifier. So i know the RC8T tank is not the answer because its not legal what should so i put a mugen tank on there for the main.

So i emailed AE about the problem and the responce i got was "for your trouble we will send 2 brand new gen 4 tanks at no cost" and no questions asked, i did not even have to send the old ones in, just told them my story and they are sending not 1 tank but 2 brand new tanks!!
Thats best customer service i have ever had!!!
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 12:18 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: south florida
Posts: 7,704
Trader Rating: 163 (100%+)
Default

thats a rare situation, i had to send all of mine in as they failed, had over 10 replaced, killed the life of 2 of my engines because they would get the air leaks and start running hot, the last time i needed one before i was going away for a race and they wouldnt send it because they were doing inventory,there service was bad enough to make me change cars because of the tank issues, one of the guys that still runs them at the track has changed over 18 so far, dosent seem to get a week out of a tank, even had the latest generation tank break after running it on the track for a few tanks
cjm1126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:01 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,176
Default

AE has gone far further than any other company to fix issues. It's just not possible to keep every one happy. I for 1 am thrilled with the buggy and there customer service.

I believe your experience is not the norm.

18 tanks sounds like there are other issues.

Any company I've worked for wouldn't do anything for you during inventory either.

I do wish you the best of luck. with your current buggy.
Chris Reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:04 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
t0adman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

For what it's worth, AE has been excellent with me too. Sent me the Service Pack and two new tanks for free.
__________________
RC8e, SCRT10e, Mod Slash 2WD
[Team Terribles]
t0adman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:11 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

With that kind of customer service it will make me stay with AE for a while!!
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:11 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: south florida
Posts: 7,704
Trader Rating: 163 (100%+)
Default

they didnt charge me for the stuff, i had to use a xray tank in the car to be able to race it, because they wouldnt send me a tank because of inventory, the car wasnt a bad handling car they just cant make a fuel tank, they are on there 4th generation, everyone of mine would get the internal air leak, they would start leaking after a few tanks of fuel run through them
cjm1126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:17 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

same here ordered two tank got them in the mail broken ears on both two new tanks 4 days later
franklucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:24 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Back in the Monster truck days I had a problem with my MGT. They told me to ship it to them they fixed the problem and upgraded 2 or 3 parts fo me I cant remember and it was pretty fast turn around time too. And I used to race 10th electric and when ever you call their tech line they are always super helpful.
__________________
TT MT4G3 all tricked
TTST4G3 MT4ed out

JR servos Hitec servos. Gens ace lipos KO radio.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 04:29 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

i have never had an issue with ae... great service IMO
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 06:29 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
markhat250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,051
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

I just recently had an awesome experience with thier customer service. I'm an AE fan for sure!!
markhat250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 09:25 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
BoMag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Q.C.
Posts: 502
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Very awesome customer service indeed! They sent me a service pack a while back at no extra cost. Oh yeah... I live in the Philippines!
BoMag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:17 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 855
Default

You mean gen 3 tank. I called into AE today got my new fuel tank. I have gen 2 tank on now it's cracked around the fuel outlet. No big deal just rough it uo CA glue but it passes a few bubbles sometimes because it also cracked inside.
Just asked for new tank RC8 asked for name, address no problem. The guy I got was Don. So thanks for AE
pdmustgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:33 PM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,332
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

But the real problem is they still haven't fixed the "problem"....so your customer service had better be good..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:43 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
SirKarnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tacos Under Cacti, Searing Our Neighborhood
Posts: 1,121
Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)
Default

Bill Martinez. AE customer service. 2115 when they ask for the extension during the recorded message.

I've had parts replaced, never any "extra" freebies though. I did happen to call him earlier today, for case screws for my 1015 servo.. seems petty but I can't find any to fit otherwise. (yea strange that two top case screws went awol)

I wish they would send me a SC8 "for my troubles" though.... ofcourse all I've had to do since I got my buggy was change from the grey to white tank once. Still using the same one..
__________________
<><>Paint by Dunn Graphics (RacerX1920)<><>
https://www.facebook.com/DunnGraphics1
SirKarnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:52 AM   #15
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirKarnage View Post
Bill Martinez. AE customer service. 2115 when they ask for the extension during the recorded message.

I've had parts replaced, never any "extra" freebies though. I did happen to call him earlier today, for case screws for my 1015 servo.. seems petty but I can't find any to fit otherwise. (yea strange that two top case screws went awol)

I wish they would send me a SC8 "for my troubles" though.... ofcourse all I've had to do since I got my buggy was change from the grey to white tank once. Still using the same one..


do you still need those screws ? i got Dozen's and Dozens from all the gear set's i fed my 1015's.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC4 Kenshin Electric On-Road 15283 08-11-2017 03:16 PM
Hpi Pro 4 Barry White Electric On-Road 16052 08-08-2017 02:05 PM
Ok I give in. 1/8 brushless qustion's. j.d.roost Electric Off-Road 46 07-08-2009 07:29 PM
Whats the best 4WD buggy out there? Orsm Electric Off-Road 74 12-11-2008 11:27 PM
THE DOWN-LOW ON WHAT THE AE DRIVERS REALLY RUN! Scootersisters Nitro Off-Road 64 11-15-2007 05:57 PM
LRP Sucks Ryan McBee Electric On-Road 163 05-09-2007 07:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net