R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2008, 08:12 PM   #1
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default Losi 8ight Starter Box hopup

I have a losi 8ight starter box and I want to make it more powerful. It feels a little weak to me. I have ran it for 1 race season. Currently it is bone stock and I use a 12v gel battery for power. Any suggestions on motors or battery upgrades?
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

u need to do both. Go lipo and get new motors, Your motors wont last long because the speed from the lipos. go with these

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/20265

get two of those and youll have the speed from the lipo and the torque from the crawler motors. this is what i run and it does great. i just broke in a os vspec .21 with this and it had no problems turnin it
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 07:03 AM   #3
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
u need to do both. Go lipo and get new motors, Your motors wont last long because the speed from the lipos. go with these

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/20265

get two of those and youll have the speed from the lipo and the torque from the crawler motors. this is what i run and it does great. i just broke in a os vspec .21 with this and it had no problems turnin it

i used to run 55's....and imo with lipo they turn Too darn slow....im back onto the stocker's that honestly have been doin great on only lipo....these motor's never saw a gel cell like my old motor's did.....but i do have a pair or 27T mod motor's i got from an On-road buddy that are ready to drop in when needed....but i honesty dont forsee needing them.....the losi motor's are fine as long as your not stalling them like crazy...and with lipo thats nearly impossible to do...as the wheel is on roids and not much is gonna stop it.


Frank L....rip out all the stock wiring....and rewire it with decent deans wet noodle and solder everything......for a 4 cell....check out ebay and HK seller's....ive gottten 2200's as cheep as 25$
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:37 AM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if OFNA 775 motors will fit in the losi box?
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:55 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
jbergman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

what you need is emaxx motors

(2) tra3975 - emaxx motors titan 550 size

LOSA99403 - starter motor pulleys

once you get those i would cut out all the wiring and the tamiya connectors
use deans and a higher strand wire, like said before.

those OFNA motors will not fit
jbergman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:56 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
DriftProjectR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

no it wont. your stuck with the 550 motors.
__________________
Hot Bodies IFMAR Worlds
OS Engines
Ace Servo
BCE Design
Bodies By Scott
Lungsford Titantium
M2C Racing
DriftProjectR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:19 AM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

it couldn't be that hard to slot new holes for the 775's...but it would take a little effort and skill....and if you hacked it up....stuff might not line up properly and you'll have to go back to stock....i would personally stick with 550's.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:59 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Thanks all for all your help. I had 2 e-max motors but I tossed them a year ago when I went brushless. Ohh well. But thank you again.
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:46 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
looneytune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.Tonawanda, NY
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I removed the complete internals from the OFNA Truggy Starter box and installed that in the losi box, you drill a few holes and your done. Then you have the 775 motors which will start anything. It's all in this post here-
Whats a good Heavy Duty Starter Box?
looneytune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net