R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2008, 09:30 PM   #1
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default engine question

my motor went out in my 8ight(mach 427) and so im using a GO .21 that i got with a my 8ight-t because i got 2 other .28 with the truggy. And today i installed the clutch on the engine, put it in the buggy and try 2 start and it wouldnt start, so i played with the tune and checked the plug and it was fine

BUT i noticed it was a turbo plug, didnt think anythin of it until tonight. The buggy was runnin great, temps were fine, idle was a little irratic but i had an SMALL air leak in my carb so i sealed it up and now it is dryin.but i was lookin at the box the guy gave me and it says its the normal engine not the turbo, so will runnin this turbo plug do any damage
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:38 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

a turbo plug wont even fit into a non-turbo engine...
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:48 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Illbreakthat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: With your sister!
Posts: 3,521
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If it has a turbo plug in it then its a turbo engine.. not only does the non turbo plug need a gasket to seal it the size is different. The turbo plug has a larger hole than the non turbo head so it one will not fit into the other.
__________________
Not much to put here....
Illbreakthat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:54 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

is there anyway at all it can be forced? im just tryin 2 make sure
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 10:55 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
offr0aden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: An Offroad track near you!!
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

NO ...

I prefer the turbo over the standard for my engines.
offr0aden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 11:24 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 220
Default

That engine could have been a normal plug engine originally, but the previouse owner could have change the head button to a turbo one. Might explain why the box says it's a normal plug engine. You will want to keep the turbo plug set-up because they make more power than the normal plug.
Losi-Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2009 Race Schedule - Sugarbowl Winner's Circle Georgia Racing 60 02-07-2009 03:40 AM
Lets go 3ports for 2006. MAVICXXX Malaysian R/C Racers 685 09-26-2008 10:47 AM
I need advise on pinch test/tunning... Mpowerz Nitro Off-Road 28 01-16-2008 12:36 PM
NEW FTGT2 with Novarossi TOP engine chilly4kc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 77 02-11-2007 10:38 PM
Trinity G4 - Team Magic G4 E-Type puma1824 Nitro On-Road 3128 10-04-2005 04:17 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net