R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 11-14-2008, 07:31 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default T-Maxx Problem.

Hi,

I'm new to the Nitro R/C trucks and bought a used T-Maxx 2.5r off of someone. I'm having problems with it and can't figure it out. I took it down to my local hobby shop here and the expert there fixed the problem. Then the next day when I took it out to run it it still does the same thing.

The problem is that when it is sitting still on the ground running, after about 30 seconds of idleing the idle gets way fast and the trans trys to engage without me doing anything. The motor idles so high that the wheels start spinning as if It was WOT. Before I got it the guy I bought it off of reset the LSN and the HSN and the IDLE back to stock.

I'm stuck here and would really rather not take it back to the hobby shop to get them to fix it because then I'm not going to learn anything.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appericiated. Thank you.
inf3kt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 08:52 AM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0

Hey man, My co-worker just got a new 2.5 RTR and it has the same problems. I called traxxas and they said some of the symptoms I was having were normal.

Check a thread I made, a little below yours and you will see where some people have helped me. Check your low speed idle screw. My co-workers was WAY out, now it made it run a lot better but it still shutters real bad and the engine will become very smooth and doesnt sound like it is making a lot of compression.

-Ant.
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 08:56 AM   #3
Tech Lord

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)