R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2008, 07:48 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 93
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Digital or Analog for throttle servo?

Just after some opinions on what you think is better for a throttle servo.
Digital's use more power but are more accurate. Is that accuracy needed on the throttle though?
Steering is another matter and digital is a definite but Im not so sure about throttle?
This is for a 1/8 buggy.

Thanks
herb99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:54 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Reevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Definitely go with digital. Doesn't hafta be top dollar like JR/Hitec...Go with Ace or something like that...They have nice digital servos for around $70 or so.
__________________
I got some RC stuff.
Reevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:03 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
allan42r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: OSWEGO IL.
Posts: 2,602
Default

look at speed, torque and will it return the carb to the closed postion if you loose power with a rubber band or return spring? the digital will have no problem but the analog you will have to check by removeing it from the package and see how free it moves. if you race dont use the fail safe mode. in nitro the pitman or a friend turns the car off we hope but if its left on and the radio gets turned off the digital servo will be buzzzzin away with full brake till it burns up. i lost a servo and learned the hard way. i run digital servos and will never go back to analog.
__________________
Pinky kisses better than mason's mom
allan42r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:42 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Loganville Ga
Posts: 755
Default

You are an anle log.
brian kadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:03 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
allan42r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: OSWEGO IL.
Posts: 2,602
Default

whats that they say about those who live in alabama?
__________________
Pinky kisses better than mason's mom
allan42r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:19 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Chill_Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flo-Town, N.W. Alabama
Posts: 1,431
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allan42r View Post
whats that they say about those who live in alabama?
Uhhhh, they have the #1 football team that has not been beaten?
Chill_Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:57 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
allan42r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: OSWEGO IL.
Posts: 2,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chill_Will View Post
Uhhhh, they have the #1 football team that has not been beaten?
not into watching men grab each other.
__________________
Pinky kisses better than mason's mom
allan42r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:04 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allan42r View Post
look at speed, torque and will it return the carb to the closed postion if you loose power with a rubber band or return spring? the digital will have no problem but the analog you will have to check by removeing it from the package and see how free it moves. if you race dont use the fail safe mode. in nitro the pitman or a friend turns the car off we hope but if its left on and the radio gets turned off the digital servo will be buzzzzin away with full brake till it burns up. i lost a servo and learned the hard way. i run digital servos and will never go back to analog.
Dont set your failsafe with brake on, just set it at idle and you will never burn a servo again.
FactoryTeam08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:14 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
moeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Yeah my buddy lost a new 9000S that way. It pulled brake for 2-3 hours before she gave up the fight
moeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:03 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,755
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

do digital servos need to be programmed to use or can you plug it in and go? i thought i read somewhere you need a programmer to use one.
LOW ET is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:09 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
allan42r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: OSWEGO IL.
Posts: 2,602
Default

no they dont you can plug n play
__________________
Pinky kisses better than mason's mom

Last edited by allan42r; 11-11-2008 at 02:19 PM. Reason: low et didnt understand me.lol
allan42r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:12 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,755
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allan42r View Post
no plug n play
what do you mean?

no programmer needed, just plug and play?

no i can't plug and play?
LOW ET is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:14 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 93
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No digital dont need to be programmed.

I run an analog Hitec 965 throttle servo in my truggy and have had 1 year of trouble free use.
A digital servo will hold their position with the same strength throught out its entire travelling distance and will hold center more than an analog.
While this is helpfull on a steering servo I dont think that is needed on a throttle servo.

Might stick with Digital for steering and analog for throttle.
herb99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 03:04 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 495
Send a message via MSN to Thistle
Default

I also use analog for the throttle/brake... I don't think the "holding power" is required for this application. I only run digital for steering.
Thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:13 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

i always run digital in both...
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC FLIGHT brading Manila Racers 23110 12-24-2015 06:23 PM
Futaba FASST VS Spektrum DSM Artificial-I Nitro On-Road 110 05-09-2010 05:39 PM
Best servos for 8T 2.0 hairdog Nitro Off-Road 22 05-20-2009 09:41 PM
Digital Servos Hpimichael Nitro On-Road 45 01-06-2008 03:19 AM
Servo for Throttle? hot_version Nitro On-Road 11 07-05-2006 12:49 AM
Servos for new car Neil Rabara Nitro On-Road 17 02-01-2003 07:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net