R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Default setting ride height?

Hey guy's, i'm wanting to set my ride height on my new d8 to the standard set up of 29mm. I went into my lhs to buy a ride height gauge but i was told they don't stock them and never really have as you can just use some digital calipers. I have set the shock lengths/droop with the digital calipers measuring from the middle of the top shock bolt to the middle of the lower bolt as accurately as possible with the car off the ground if this is correct (adjusted using the droop screws)? However i'm unsure how to measure ride height with calipers as i thought it was adjusted via the shock collars with the car on the ground? Can any one help? thanks-Hugh
hugh_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 05:28 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

u are correct on the ride height being adjusted with the spring collars....you need an Ae ride height guage....using caliper's imo is more of a hassle.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/13177
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 05:31 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
u are correct on the ride height being adjusted with the spring collars....you need an Ae ride height guage....using caliper's imo is more of a hassle.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/13177
just what i thought! They were telling me just to measure from shock end to shock end!
hugh_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:42 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh_b View Post
just what i thought! They were telling me just to measure from shock end to shock end!


show's how much they know about set-up
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:27 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Chill_Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flo-Town, N.W. Alabama
Posts: 1,431
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

If you are not in a hurry you can wait and save some money.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...odID=LOSA99173
Chill_Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 02:26 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Mark_Australia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ride height gauge is a ripoff IMHO.

Put car on a box about 12" high, and the box on a table.

Place a ruler (or bit of steel or anything) under the car so it lays flat under the chassis. Hold it up against the chassis but being careful not to lift the car. Tape it on there if you want.
The ruler will stick out 4" each side (or front - back if using a long one)

Measure from top edge of ruler to the top of the box.

Done.
Mark_Australia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:25 AM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Australia View Post
Ride height gauge is a ripoff IMHO.


Done.

haha thats hilarious....for a whopping 15-20$ you seem to think a cardboard box and ruler are just the same.......too funny.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:25 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

a ride height gauge is much easier to use at the track for adjustments then carrying around a 12 inch high box..IMO





Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Australia View Post
Ride height gauge is a ripoff IMHO.

Put car on a box about 12" high, and the box on a table.

Place a ruler (or bit of steel or anything) under the car so it lays flat under the chassis. Hold it up against the chassis but being careful not to lift the car. Tape it on there if you want.
The ruler will stick out 4" each side (or front - back if using a long one)

Measure from top edge of ruler to the top of the box.

Done.
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:30 AM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

is this guy really serious....a Box and ruler
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:54 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: illinois
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Setup

Using digital calipers is really easy to. Just leave the car on the setup station and measure from the setup board to the bottom of the chassis. That simple.
Jmnay_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:51 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmnay_83 View Post
Using digital calipers is really easy to. Just leave the car on the setup station and measure from the setup board to the bottom of the chassis. That simple.

what about when you want to measure the front height behind the kick up....caliper blades are only soo long. or if u sport a rear skid plates and u cant just measure from the rear of the chassy and you have to go in front of the plate or on one of the droop tabs where the skid does not cover....good luck getting caliper's in there.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-22-2015 11:34 PM
Losi XXX-S TSR6 Electric On-Road 14329 01-26-2015 07:59 PM
Kyosho VoneR Thread neons Nitro On-Road 12206 06-29-2012 03:19 PM
WHAT ORDER DO YOU SET YOUR CAR UP? crACkeD ChaSsiS Electric On-Road 23 03-29-2006 03:18 PM
Tweaking a touring car? 429racer Electric On-Road 111 09-26-2004 06:24 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net