R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2008, 11:16 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Servo HELP!!! in Losi 8

Ok - I finally got the motor started for the 1st time ater a long wait or the new starter box. I have Ace 1313 servo in both sering and throttle and after a minute or so of the engine idling, the throttle servo was moving really slow at first - then it stopped all together. I removed the radio tray and noticed that this servo was hot.

What would cause this? The servo is new and this was the first time using with the engine running. My rx battery is the Losi lipo with regulator.

Is the servo done? How is the company in dealing with warranty issues.

Is there a better servo for the throttle?


Brian
brian001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 11:23 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Mlbracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bluffton, SC
Posts: 215
Default

I've heard that Lipo battery's have been making servo blow

that's your problem or

you screwed the screw down to tight and didn't allow a little flex in the tray and it was taking to much to pull the throttle and it gave way
__________________
~ Team Associated ~ Jconcepts ~ Byrons Fuel ~
Thanks to my dad and everyone who helps us out!
Mlbracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 11:28 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Isn't the regulator supposed to take care of this issue. Am I going o be better to switch to NiMh rx batteries or is there a servo that will handle this better.
Are you talking about the screw for the servo horn?
brian001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 11:36 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Mlbracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bluffton, SC
Posts: 215
Default

it's either the servo horn or the radio settings, make sure you set your radio right

if you didn't you could make the servo want to pull at 100% when you only need enough to make the engine completely open
__________________
~ Team Associated ~ Jconcepts ~ Byrons Fuel ~
Thanks to my dad and everyone who helps us out!
Mlbracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 11:55 AM   #5
Got a little Captain in ya??
 
Gilley11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Winnebago,Il
Posts: 1,422
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

A buddy had the same thing hi brand new ace servo went bad after 1 race replaced it with a jr problem solved. not a bash just some experiance
Gilley11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 12:19 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Ace's warranty department is pretty good. But get it in quick.. I think thye only have a 90 day warranty.
Akhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 12:48 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If you were just idling the engine on the box it wouldn't matter if the throttle linkage and endpoints, etc. were set correctly or not b/c the servo isn't really getting any stress on it. But, be sure that you have your throttle servo set exactly the way the 8ight addendum says to so you don't have trouble later. You want to be sure that when the carb is completely open that you can then pull the rod by hand and get another 1mm of travel or so. You have to do that b/c the 8ight chassis flexes. The addendum will show you, just read it and do what it says if it's not set that way already. If you don't have the addendum download it from Losi website.

Sounds like your servo is toast. Could hav been a bad servo, or could be the LiPos. I've seen several people complaining about defective voltage regulators. IMO, there's no reason to run LiPo for a Rx pack. You have to step the voltage down to 6V anyway so you don't gain anything there, and the weight savings really don't matter 'cause we all have more than enough hp anyway. You may get a few more mah out of LiPo, but my 1600 mah NiMh pack will get me through a 45 minutes main easily and that's all I need.
cjtamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net