R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2008, 09:47 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default 1/8 Buggy racers: Are you running a Switch?

wondering..
if so which switch

if not explain or post pic of what you are doing

please,

Thanks,
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:08 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 528
Default

I do not run a switch. I have had to much bad luck with Switches costing me big races! I simply cut a little notch out of the radio box lid, I have the battery lead coming out of one end of the box and another lead out of the reciever and just direct plug them in when it's time to go race!
No more issues!!

(Sorry I don't know how to post photos)
__________________
2010 is going to ROCK!! Thanks to my support system!!
-Tamiya -Alpha Plus Engines -Byrons Race Fuel
-R/C Pro Products -AKA Tires KO Propo
-Kal-Gard -TnT-Fx -TKO Bearings -Track Star
-Pyrographix Paints -Ballistic Batteries
TRCRacer24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:15 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've done both....I have had good luck with the airtronics switch. I have also run as Ryan stated with a 6'' lead off of the receiver and battery lead hanging outside of the box. I am pretty anal about keeping things tidy, so I prefer to run a switch. Just make sure to have the 'on' position towards the front or bottom depending on how your switch mounts....don't want to accidentally switch off the vehicle when landing off a jump or hitting something!
HiVoltg12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:16 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Default

+1 I'm with Ryan on this one ...except bad switches have cost me a few "little" races... LOL

I put a notch in the RX lid and run the battery lead from a lipo and the lead from the regulator outside the box...plug and play...simple to charge your battery too.

Note... use a small zip tie on the wires inside the box so they wont pull too much slack and get tangled in your drivetrain.
scrappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:48 PM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

battery...regulator...Rx is how i do mine.


__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 03:27 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
floss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pittsworth, Qld
Posts: 1,141
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

If you are going to use a switch , Sanwa are by far the best, 6 years no probs, i replace my switches every 2 years , for under $10 why not....
__________________
REDS RACING ENGINES
Model Motorsports
floss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:17 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KRCRacer22 View Post
I do not run a switch. I have had to much bad luck with Switches costing me big races! I simply cut a little notch out of the radio box lid, I have the battery lead coming out of one end of the box and another lead out of the reciever and just direct plug them in when it's time to go race!
No more issues!!

(Sorry I don't know how to post photos)
Thank you, I can't argue with you so I will go the same route
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:41 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,115
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

I have been running switches for years and still do now. I have never had a problem. But I replace then like once a year
__________________
K.C. Guy. Team Xray - rc america
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 05:09 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
BAUSTIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: WV
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i run a switch........if i ran lipo i would not........
__________________
Billy Austin
www.Code3RC.com
Elevation Sports
BAUSTIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 05:32 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
pitpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,445
Default

The JR switch is hands down the best switch out there.
__________________
Cody King's Wrench (and dad :))| Team Kyosho International | Reds Racing Engines | Pro-Line Tires
KO Propo | Byron Fuels | AbsoluteHobbyz.com | Stickit1 Racing | kustomrcgraphics.com
LiveRC.com | OCRC Raceway | codykingrc.com | ROAR Sanctioning Director
pitpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 05:33 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
pitpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,445
Default

ps... a crappy Airtronics knock off switch cost us the truck nationals, and I still run the JR switch. That's how sure I am about it.
__________________
Cody King's Wrench (and dad :))| Team Kyosho International | Reds Racing Engines | Pro-Line Tires
KO Propo | Byron Fuels | AbsoluteHobbyz.com | Stickit1 Racing | kustomrcgraphics.com
LiveRC.com | OCRC Raceway | codykingrc.com | ROAR Sanctioning Director
pitpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 06:36 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
lowey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 356
Default

From what i've seen there ain't much difference between switches and i've been running a switch since i started in RC. I have found the only way to ensure trouble free operation is to use a switch boot. It keeps all the dirt and crap out of the switch and i've never once had a problem since using them!

lowey79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 06:45 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 167
Default

I have been running a switch in both my cars and I think I am not going to use them anymore. Like Ryan said, they are just not worth it. A bad switch cost me the MNRC truggy championship not to mention a few other races over the past few years. The luxury and ease of use of the switch has not been up to par for my cars... bye, bye switch.

I think I will cut a notch outside of the box like the others are saying and maybe put one of these on:http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDT85&P=0
__________________
Team Horizon - Viper RC Solutions - Dynamite - Blue Thunder - Spektrum - JConcepts - Full Nelson Designs - RW Mods

Last edited by KendallWelch; 10-21-2008 at 06:56 PM.
KendallWelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 06:54 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Steve Walters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use the JR switch. I used the same switch for 2-3 years in last buggy without any issues at all. My current buggy I put a new one in, and have a backup if needed. But its probably going to sit in my hauler for a couple years like the last one. I also use a rubber switch cover to help keep the dust out.
__________________
"CVR" Central Valley Raceway (Madera, CA)
Team "WTF" Racing member
TEAM BCE (Product/Field Tester)

X-Ray 808 (Active Diff)
BCE 8X8 Pro Chassis
OS Speed (XCustoms Head Mod)
Hitec 5995TG (S&T)
M11 & Spectrum.
Steve Walters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:21 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to abramsM1
Default

I use the JR switch as well, no problems here.
abramsM1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 05:16 AM
New Losi 1:8 buggy next year?? word is yes.. Finken Nitro Off-Road 91 06-25-2011 08:24 PM
Maxy's Fuel is Back!!!!!! jets Malaysian R/C Racers 45 03-21-2007 01:33 AM
High end servo debate.... WheelNut Electric Off-Road 56 10-21-2004 07:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net