R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2008, 05:38 PM   #31
Tech Elite
 
mblgjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AL
Posts: 2,173
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

No switch...

Just run a larger gauge pigtail out of the rec'v box and plug straight in (on NiMH).

No problems at all.
__________________
Team Associated Reedy JConcepts.net FusionX USA
mblgjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 08:35 PM   #32
Tech Apprentice
 
Fear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to Fear
Default

Been using this nice Futaba contraption for a while:
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/6561

No problems whatsoever.
__________________
Robitronic Avid
MambaMax 7700kV, LiPo, JR Z9100S

Associated RC8
RB S7, JR Z9100S/Z9100T(nuked, at JR for repair)/Futaba BLS-351

Futaba 4PK
Fear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:03 PM   #33
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

i have always ran a switch with no issues.. i have been considering not using one because of issues other people have had.
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:32 PM   #34
Tech Master
 
zJatoRad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: McAllen, TX
Posts: 1,568
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to zJatoRad
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FactoryTeam08 View Post
I prefer the convenience of a switch, they are cheap and I replace them once a season. I hate having wires sticking out and letting dust in the receiver box, rather lose a cheap switch than an expensive receiver.
I rather having my receiver box a little dirty than having my car run away because the switch fail and risking my engine.
__________________
"Smooth is Slow, and Slow is Fast"
zJatoRad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:50 PM   #35
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zJatoRad View Post
I rather having my receiver box a little dirty than having my car run away because the switch fail and risking my engine.
Throttle return spring or rubber band will fix a runaway due to power loss but if your reciever fails (which I have seen more than once due to sand or dust ingress) then your deans plug or my switch wont help!!!

I am sticking with the convenience... +1 for a switch!!
FactoryTeam08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 10:19 PM   #36
Tech Master
 
bgbelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,980
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I've had 1 fail in 2 years of racing. I race most every weekend sometimes both days, big races 3-4 days. 52 weekends a year times 2 years equals 104 races (at the min.) So that equals less than 1% of the time it's failed. Should i stop using glow plugs because they fail me at a much higher %. It's strictly an opinion thing i believe.
__________________
''Life's tough ........
it's even tougher if you're stupid..''
-- John Wayne
bgbelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:38 AM   #37
Tech Regular
 
strngdze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Im just resurrecting this thread because Id like to see if anyones opinions have changed regarding using or not using a switch while running Lipo. Also, for those of you who are not using a switch and using plugs exterior of the receiver box, have you ever had any instances of the plugs coming undone during a race?
strngdze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:50 AM   #38
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i would like someone to post pics of how they seal their receiver box.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 03:54 PM   #39
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strngdze View Post
Im just resurrecting this thread because Id like to see if anyones opinions have changed regarding using or not using a switch while running Lipo. Also, for those of you who are not using a switch and using plugs exterior of the receiver box, have you ever had any instances of the plugs coming undone during a race?


I use JST connector's(small red one's)that clip together real nice....Never once have i had one come loose.....I will change the wires if i run the pack for more then 8-10 months for peace of mind.

Dreaux sealed radio box ?
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 04:05 PM   #40
Tech Adept
 
boxhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fear View Post
Been using this nice Futaba contraption for a while:
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/6561

No problems whatsoever.
I run the same switch with this rubber boot


http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...n-Switch-Cover

boxhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 04:11 PM   #41
Tech Master
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,693
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

i have gone through several jr switches and once a year they start to glitch. i think its because i get the 3 lead version and there's too much wire crammed into the box and in time the wires get pretty nasty looking. i will go back to the external plug for now until it lets me down for the first time. just have to find the cover for the switch now.
__________________
aGama A8 EVO - Werks B2 - Sidewinder
aGama A8E - TrackStar 150a, 2560kv, 3 and 4 cell
FlySky GT3B, Turnigy HV servos, SKY Lipos
AKA, Proline, Hotbodies Rubber
Elite Performance - HORRC.com
j_blaze14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 05:49 PM   #42
Tech Master
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Some time back i went switchless and was tuff to get used to. Now many months later it is actually a bit more convenient. I was taught years ago when rcs are not in use(EVEN FOR AN HOUR) to unplug the battery/batteries when they are not in use. So this always meant that after each heat i use to turn switch off then unplug the batt lead...switchless is no doubt the way to go...especially with the xcess wires on lipoly
__________________
Mark Buecker
8&stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:26 PM   #43
Tech Regular
 
Kalgard Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 467
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

JR switch for sure!!!
Kalgard Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 05:16 AM
New Losi 1:8 buggy next year?? word is yes.. Finken Nitro Off-Road 91 06-25-2011 08:24 PM
Maxy's Fuel is Back!!!!!! jets Malaysian R/C Racers 45 03-21-2007 01:33 AM
High end servo debate.... WheelNut Electric Off-Road 56 10-21-2004 07:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net