R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 10-15-2008, 04:39 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Default Jammin X1x vs Hyper 8/8.5 RTR

I am looking into getting into nitro buggies i am a newbie to nitro but a quick learner (as far as tuning goes) There are soo many options out there for buggies and even though i want to build a kit eventually for a start i want a RTR i have figured the 4-500 range is high but i can cope and i have been looking at a Jammin x1x cr rtr and a hyper 8 with a 8.5 upgrade kit. I can get the jammin about 50 bucks cheaper then the hyper. You guys have any input or even suggestions i would appreciate the input. The things that are important to me is that its fast durable and i will be able to get parts and also maybe when i get good go to the track a little more and race. Ive also looked at GS racing storm pro rtr and VTX B1r... but i think parts would be a issue and im not sure about the qob (quality of buggy) any info or opinions would help since im only a noob.
Tcaputo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:54 PM   #2
Tech Lord

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)

Either Buggy will be fine to bash and race, but all of us racers will tell you not to buy any RTR. In the long run RTR will cost more than a Kit, because The servos in a RTR are crappy, the engine is crappy and the radio is crappy, and lots of times the parts are crappy compared to the parts that come with a kit. but, that being said, some people can only afford RTR at the moment. You will have no problem bashing/racing either on of the buggies on your list, but from all around expierience the Jammin is a better product. Parts are easy to get for any Ofna product, but maybe not at your LHS. If you are a noob, and are going to crash allot. I would reccomend you buying something that your LHS (Local Hobby Shop) carries parts for, so you dont have to buy everything online and wait a week.
Old 10-15-2008, 05:14 PM   #3