R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2008, 07:25 PM   #61
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

well if all three of your rec went into failsafe in the same week did you ever think it could be our module that is screwed up?
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:28 PM   #62
Tech Elite
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

true, going to send module and receivers to Futaba, maybe they will be bale to figure it out.
Toiffel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:36 PM   #63
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

i am pretty sure.. the guy that repairs stuff for futaba is top notch... i race with him
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:51 PM   #64
Tech Addict
 
DogboneS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: - NH - USA -
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toiffel View Post
how do you disable the failsafe in PPM mode?? I checked and it's not even appear as an option in the menu.....
I run HRS mode with Futaba digital servos. Do you prefer PPM?
DogboneS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:54 PM   #65
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

i have always ran hrs mode myself
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:09 PM   #66
Tech Elite
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

just one last thought, if it is the module, why when I bypass the on/off switch and the regulator the system doesn't go into to failsafe???

Tried the fm module, and no problem at all.
Toiffel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:43 PM   #67
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

maybe it tricks the receiver in to things are good.. i really do not know. sounds like a good question for futaba,
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 03:50 PM   #68
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default

according to the manual: you can only use failsafe in PCM or HRS

so if you are in PPM then you have no failsafe activation possible
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 10:52 PM   #69
Tin
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toiffel View Post
just one last thought, if it is the module, why when I bypass the on/off switch and the regulator the system doesn't go into to failsafe???

Tried the fm module, and no problem at all.
The regulator, maybe but the switch, I dont think that has anything to do with it. Unless your switch is bad and is not connecting well. Other words, badd connection, not enough juice flowing. I was talking to my hobby rep and he asked what model servos are we using. He said sometimes certain servos will drain a lot amperage, therefore it can heat up the servos. Then on some servos , without the use of a regulator, the servos cant take all the juice so most of the power will get backed up into the receiver and can also heat it up.

Tin
Tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 07:07 PM   #70
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

well i sold the 3pk... 4pk here i come!!!
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:15 AM   #71
Tin
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 95
Default

Nice, the 4pk is a lot lighter and it feels more balanced on the hand. Dont know weather I should seel my 3pk or keep it as a backup radio.
Tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 06:37 AM   #72
Tech Elite
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default PROBLEM SOLVED......

Well who would think that three different Losi Lipo packs would go bad, two mine and one of my friends were bad, everytime we used them they would go into failsafe (except if we bypassed the regulator or we used FM module and receiver) tried a different Lipo HT or something like that no failsafe.... So I'm back to NIMH and no problems at all, no more lipo's for me, except in my transmitter and starter boxes.....
Thanks for all the help!!

Last edited by Toiffel; 10-22-2008 at 01:10 PM.
Toiffel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:35 AM   #73
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default

yeah!
yep one guy at my onroad nitro track had multiple bad losi batt's and reg's


makes me happy I went with 1700 nimh
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 01:06 PM   #74
Tin
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 95
Default

Now we just have to find out why the lipos are causing this.
Tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 01:18 PM   #75
cnk
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 119
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin View Post
Now we just have to find out why the lipos are causing this.
Might not be the LiPo, could be the regulator since everything seemed to work find when it was removed.
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FM or 2.4 GHz????? vw addict Nitro Off-Road 43 06-18-2008 08:23 PM
Problem with brand new 3PKS/FASST chris3g Nitro On-Road 22 02-28-2008 10:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net