R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2008, 03:37 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
lowey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 356
Default spektrum DX3S???

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM3130

I see around that Spektrum has released a new system aimed at rtr and sport user... The DX3S, jam packed with features including on the fly telemetry, but does not have DSM2 technology. My question is, why would they put telemetry into a sport radio and not into there flagship race model in the DX3R?
lowey79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 04:10 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

my guess would be because the dx3s is aimed more at a newer RTR novice driver and the dx3r is more a of expert pro level and at the expert pro level you dont need to know your engine RPM's and Temp and all that stuff
__________________
www.nitrojunction.com
The #1 site for all your nitro needs
egobuster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 04:13 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I have never seen any one use that stuff. It must be easy and some one must be using it? I wonder if it would be cheaper if they left it out? I'm sold on the weight alone.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 04:36 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Are you sure its old style DSM & not DSM2? Maybe the ad guy is just an ad guy & not a tech guy. Why would their newest product not be able to use the new recievers I bought with the R model. I'm not sure how they are doing the price but msrp including an extra old style reciever for $249 ? Thats insane & I wanna get one any way for the temp feature & see if I can use it as a fuel guage/pit now warning & guarentee the 1/8 conversion guys wanna keep track of speed control & motor temps.
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 05:03 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

You can`t always go by what the ad guys says . He stated that the 8ight 2.0 was coming out as a kit which is false info . Both Todd Hodge and Truhe said it will be a race roller .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 05:05 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by egobuster1 View Post
my guess would be because the dx3s is aimed more at a newer RTR novice driver and the dx3r is more a of expert pro level and at the expert pro level you dont need to know your engine RPM's and Temp and all that stuff
Actually many seasoned drivers use telemetry and most novices don`t even know what telemetry is .

Even if it is DSM1 , no big deal to me as I`m still using the first DSM generation . Only other difference I see is that is has a 10 model memory instead of 30 .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 06:27 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
lowey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by butch man View Post
Are you sure its old style DSM & not DSM2? Maybe the ad guy is just an ad guy & not a tech guy. Why would their newest product not be able to use the new recievers I bought with the R model. I'm not sure how they are doing the price but msrp including an extra old style reciever for $249 ? Thats insane & I wanna get one any way for the temp feature & see if I can use it as a fuel guage/pit now warning & guarentee the 1/8 conversion guys wanna keep track of speed control & motor temps.
The first line of text on that link reads
"Combining Spektrumís industry-leading 2.4GHz DSMģ technology with valuable telemetry features"
If you read the overview of the DX3R from the same site, it says
"While the DX3Rís intelligently designed ergonomics are easily recognizable, it is the superior responsiveness of its advanced 2.4GHz DSM2 technology that will get people talking."
That would lead me to believe that the DX3S uses standard DSM, and considering the price, it stands to reason that they couldn'tput all the good features in!
lowey79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 06:35 PM   #8
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 10,180
Trader Rating: 440 (99%+)
Default

The new DX3S is DSM only. It is NOT compatible with the newer DSM2 tech that's in the DX3R.

Here it is at Amain for sale:

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/29216


And a nice review of it on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQL-GjCTZ5k

This is a 4 part review so be sure to click on the other videos.
MattP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 06:43 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

That does make sense & is a bummer but I have probably 15 regular recievers & only 2 of the type 2 so not too bad & so far not much diff between the old & new except being VERY careful with the new antenna. As far as memory goes I spent the time filling up every memory slot but only really drive 3 cars.
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spektrum RC DX3S Telemetry radio system. UK.hardcore Radio and Electronics 751 10-30-2013 05:02 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 01:50 PM
R/C Stuff Selling Kenneth Tan Singapore R/C Racers 45728 09-09-2009 07:19 AM
NIB Spektrum DX3S with telemetry reciever djnsayne R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 52 04-08-2009 09:46 AM
Spektrum DX3R or DX3S???? aiyoaiya Malaysian R/C Racers 180 03-10-2009 03:14 AM
DX3S weird servo behaviour jonoz Radio and Electronics 11 03-02-2009 11:41 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net