R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2008, 09:45 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pelham, Alabama
Posts: 10
Default Engine not running rich enough----need some help here

hey guys, i need some help here for some reason, the AE .15 on my RC10GT won't run rich enough. i noticed not enough smoke coming out, so i reset to factory needle setting for high speed put screw all the way in, and brought out 2 1/2 turns, and now it's even worse i've backed it out A LOT and it still won't run rich

any ideas?
Ma-Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:59 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma-Deuce View Post
hey guys, i need some help here for some reason, the AE .15 on my RC10GT won't run rich enough. i noticed not enough smoke coming out, so i reset to factory needle setting for high speed put screw all the way in, and brought out 2 1/2 turns, and now it's even worse i've backed it out A LOT and it still won't run rich

any ideas?


imo stock needle setting's can only get u soo far.....id back the highspeed out till its blatently Rich....then tune it with the highspeed till its got decent top end and running consistent...then worry about the bottom end.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 10:05 AM   #3
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

If you have backed the needle way out and it still runs lean then there are two main things to check. First would be a blockage. Take the fuel line off at the carb and the pressure line off at the pipe and blow into the pressure line. Fuel should come out the line VERY easily with little effort. Next would be an airleak of some sort, most likely in the tank. GT tanks can crack and leak air, lines can have holes in them, HSN banjo fitting could be loose, etc.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:15 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
RC Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Posts: 1,355
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to RC Dad
Default

you might also check that the brass sleeve that holds the HSN isn't loose where it screws into the carb. We had that happen on a .26 once, and the entire sleeve was turning with the needle, increasing the size of the air leak (leaner) with every left turn.
__________________
GV2 Pro, XXX4G+, Blitz SCT, CRC GenXL
RC Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-22-2015 11:34 PM
Ask Aaron Waldron Aaron Waldron Nitro Off-Road 4285 11-03-2011 12:23 PM
Need HELP with V-Spec Mo-Bo0st Nitro Off-Road 9 07-12-2008 08:47 AM
How To Break In ?????? MaTt 93 Nitro Off-Road 11 10-09-2007 01:44 PM
Engine Tuning for Dummies spenzalii Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 4 06-17-2005 07:25 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net