R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 10-11-2008, 09:28 PM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default Spektrum, to be or not to be.

Ok, I have been debating for months now on whether to buy a spektrum pro kit for my futaba 3pk radio or just stay with 75 mhz. And just to set things straight I am no pro driver (obviously) but a descent expert level driver. My deal with going to spektrum is that I worry about the supposed 2.4 ghz is slower than 75 mhz stories. I have no doubt about the reliability of spektrum technology but is it really noticeably slower? I always run my 3pk in hrs mode with futaba digital servos and I can definitely notice the difference vs running in pcm or ppm. I just feel so much more in touch with the car in hrs. I tried the futaba 2.4 fasst system but fell victim to the shut down due to heat or what ever the problem was and dont want to mess with it again. But up until the problems occurred the 2.4 was awesome, I noticed no delay time and the peace of mind about channel conflicts was great, not to mention I liked running the shorter antenna, I have had marshals step on my antenna before and pull it out.
Well long story short can anyone that has made the swap from 75mhz to spektrum while using a 3pk share there findings? And please dont flame me too bad, just looking for an honest opinion.
Old 10-11-2008, 09:48 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to omaha_racing

I have used the spectrum system with the 3pk with NO issues at all. I asked the guys at my local Hobbytown if I would notice a difference between the 2.4 and HRS. They said not at all, and if their is any speed difference it is negligible at best. If you want the speed then go for the HRS version of spectrum.
omaha_racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 11:21 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic

I've never had a problem with it.