R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 10-04-2008, 07:59 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default NEW to 1/8 Scale: Looking to Buy First Truggy

I'm new to the 1/8 scale truggy scene, but I have some experience with 1/10 scale RC buggies. I'm looking to purchase my first Truggy to possibly race in the future. I am wondering which Truggy besides a Losi or a Kyosho (too much $) would be a good purchase. Budget is a concern!

What information do any of you have on the CEN Matrix Arena truggy kits? I have thought about buying an RTR, but every post I read seems to steer people away from RTR kits if you plan on racing.
CAMB7594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 08:08 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)

look on the for sale threads...there are alot of truggies...i personally have a 8t rtr and it runs pretty close to the kits with $300 + motors...just upgrade the servos and you will be close enough to race up front!!!!
Old 10-04-2008, 08:13 AM   #3
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

I believe rtr's are good to start with also. Gives you a platform to start with and an engine that won't make you cry if/when you kill it learning to tune. I'd rather see somebody toast a losi mach engine than be talked into a 280$ vspec and toast it within two gallons..

Also while you are learning to drive and tune it, you can be saving some coin for servos which should be your first upgrade, as well as a starterbox setup.

Good luck. If you have the money then a kit and your chosen electronics/engine/pipe is good way to go. If you are on a budget and want to get rolling on the learning curve then don't let anybody tell you there is anything wrong with an rtr.
Keeping racing fun and affordable with my 8y.o. twins :)
The best track I've raced is the one in my backyard!
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 08:20 AM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)