R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 09-14-2008, 12:01 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default CASTER ZX-1

Couldn't find a thread about the caster ZX-1 buggy anywhere so i thought i would start one. How long have you ran a caster and what do you think about them?
Old 09-14-2008, 04:04 AM   #2
Tech Elite

The ZX-1 is teh older version of the ZX-1R.
Its about 2 years old.
I have been running Caster since late 2004 starting with the ZX-1 RTR.
Im not one to jump from brand to brand but have learnt and grown with the Caster car from its start.

Very similar setup but to ZX-1R but there has been improvements in plastics used, and cosmetic changes as well as quaility control.
I raced a ZX-1 Pro for 2 years and it ran well with no real issues besides the occassional breakage from driver error.
The ZX-1 can be upgraded as you wear out parts to the spec of a ZX-1R which is essentially the bulk heads being the biggest diference.
Pop around the casterracingusa forum and we can give you support and info there.
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 09:14 AM   #3
Tech Elite

also...shock towers, ackerman plate, no more carbon fiber, better shocks, better gears, different plastic compound....

It looks very similar, but over the past year, the quality and parts used has dramatically shifted. The zx-1 was a nice vehicle, but it created a bad reputation for Caster that has finally been put to pasture. Now we are a serious company that can stand against any of the others. I can't wait for 2009. We have a lot more coming!
hakmazter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 02:29 PM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)