R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 09-08-2008, 11:29 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default new to r/c need some help

hey everybody i just bought my first r/c nitro truck lastnight i have wanted to get into r/c for as long as i can remember, so i went out and bougt a used nitro stampede from a local hobby shop here in upstate ny. from what ive read i guess that the stampede isnt that bad to start out with, like i said i am brand new to this whole thing and really dont have the slightest idea about anything im more used to stuff with bigger engines like atvs and dirt bikes. the thing is my truck always seems to stall i will get it started run it for a few minutes and then the damn thing will stall for no apparent reason i dont know if i have to adjust the air fuel mixture or something else, when its running it runs great, the dude at the dealership said the exhaust should always be smokey if not than its running to lean and i will most likely blow the engine. i dont know any help would be great as well as any info or ideas im always ready to learn something. thanks guys.

jon
smithjeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:34 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)

The first thing we need to know is if it's dying becuase its lean or rich. Put a drop of spit on the head and see how long it takes to evaporate. Target is like 3 seconds. Longer and it is cool and too rich. Shorter and too lean. Is it dying on throttle or just sitting? How much smoke? Being used the possible issues are much greater. But thats a place to start. At least it runs! Thats a good thing!
XT8 Hobbywing 150a esc/2000kv combo KILLER! Full rc-monster e conversion. 4s
slaytanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:40 AM   #3
Tech Initiate