R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2008, 12:38 AM   #16
Tech Addict
 
DogboneS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: - NH - USA -
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

This is the thread I had read earlier this year about plugs. Took me a while to find with RcTech's wonderful search engine

Picco Plugs

This is why I questioned the plugs. Funny that Tower sells the Picco and the Orion engine, but no plugs for either. Maybe LRP plugs will fit, since the new engines are Picco based.
DogboneS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:23 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

bro i have no idea in regards to the link you posted. maybe they are right but what i am telling is you straight from the mouth of the guy who designed the motor. run a P3, orion plugs are just around the corner
__________________
Leon McIntosh
PRO-LINE--XRAY--RCAmerica--FX Engines--NitroPro Fuel--Kustom R/C Graphics--Schelle Racing

******* DialedSetups.com ****** Check it out!!!!!
punkracer24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:25 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

aslo in terms of performance this motor is definitely one of the better motors that i have run. its very smooth but if you need to jam the throttle in a tight stiuation its there for you. I would highly suggest using the orion pipe with it but as usual anything will work
__________________
Leon McIntosh
PRO-LINE--XRAY--RCAmerica--FX Engines--NitroPro Fuel--Kustom R/C Graphics--Schelle Racing

******* DialedSetups.com ****** Check it out!!!!!
punkracer24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:35 AM   #19
Tech Champion
 
Maximo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Run a Picco plugs guys, its very very simple.... Picco makes the motor, Picco plugs fit exactly......... OS plugs do not fit nearly as good as Picco plugs do.....OS plugs are for ham fists who like to ram the wrong plug into the button !
Maximo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:37 AM   #20
Tech Champion
 
Maximo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porkchop View Post
i never drove a motor that revs so hard in my life i love this thing. i am on my 3 gallon mark and the only thing i had to do is seal my carb and my tune start staying right. power is snappy but smooth all the way to the top in 3 gallon i not been able to wind the thing out
I am very curious if the Orion performs any different then the current Picco P7 and JPX engines, as the motors are extremely similar except for the crank.. I have a CRF coming soon so I will be able to see for myself but I am not expecting to see much of a difference to be honest.

Last edited by Maximo; 09-24-2008 at 06:32 AM.
Maximo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 06:53 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

If the engine is Picco based, then IDM glowplugs will fit also.
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 07:20 AM   #22
Tech Champion
 
Maximo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezveedub View Post
If the engine is Picco based, then IDM glowplugs will fit also.

its 100% a P7R sleeve/piston/button/case and carb...the only thing different is the crank.... Now of course timing profiles may be adjusted but physical design is identical...I will be measuring my CRF's timing soon to compare to the P7R....
Maximo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 12:18 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximo View Post
Run a Picco plugs guys, its very very simple.... Picco makes the motor, Picco plugs fit exactly......... OS plugs do not fit nearly as good as Picco plugs do.....OS plugs are for ham fists who like to ram the wrong plug into the button !
i guess mr. bertin has no idea what he's talking about or Ryan Cavalieris motor must not run very good when he TQ's a few rounds at the worlds

dude im just saying what the guy who designed the thing has told me and from my personal experience over the last three to four months WITH the motor

but i look forward to hearing what you think when you get yours
__________________
Leon McIntosh
PRO-LINE--XRAY--RCAmerica--FX Engines--NitroPro Fuel--Kustom R/C Graphics--Schelle Racing

******* DialedSetups.com ****** Check it out!!!!!
punkracer24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 12:21 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (england)
Posts: 358
Default

im only curious because in the manual it says for break in

1 tank at idle minimum sounds like my type of motor
Megacrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 12:24 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
porkchop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: o-h-i-o
Posts: 2,830
Send a message via AIM to porkchop Send a message via Yahoo to porkchop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megacrash View Post
im only curious because in the manual it says for break in

1 tank at idle minimum sounds like my type of motor
run 4 tanks and forget about why i love this thing
__________________
charles garten
serpent / novarossi / Desoto Racing / Absolute Hobbyz / ko propo / first turn racing usa / KustomRcGraphics / O'donnell racing fuel / Houstons Engine Service / sweep racing tires
porkchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 01:36 PM   #26
Tech Champion
 
Maximo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by punkracer24 View Post
i guess mr. bertin has no idea what he's talking about or Ryan Cavalieris motor must not run very good when he TQ's a few rounds at the worlds

dude im just saying what the guy who designed the thing has told me and from my personal experience over the last three to four months WITH the motor

but i look forward to hearing what you think when you get yours

I have several times now seen OS plugs leak in Picco heads, I dont what else to tell you... I do look forward to getting mine !
Maximo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:44 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
Z00M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,173
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I use the original Ninja #5 plugs in mine and they work very well. No deformation of the button or leaks.
__________________
My blog: http://mikesrc.wordpress.com
XRAY XB4
## NOSRAM ## XRAY ## KO ##
www.nbhc.com.au - www.teamxray.com
Z00M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:21 PM   #28
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yucaipa,CA
Posts: 437
Default

How does this motor compare to an OS V-SPec. This will be my first nitro, and I am considering this motor. It will be going into a D8. The track I run at is Thunder Alley, in Beaumont, California if that helps.
xpertpredator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:32 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 220
Default

i just got my nov issue of xrc mag n they had a crf .21 in a mp9 n reviewed it wit dyno numbers n its a BEAST. for those that likes dyno numbers, its better than the os speed, tuned grp .21, n most all others out there number wise. i have close to 1 gal on mine, so guess its time to put more fuel into her. they said this motor likes to run hot (240-260F) n takes alot of fuel before u will see all that power. im glad i bought mine when they first came out. oh btw for those that like numbers: peak x-dyno hp=1.62@23,250, peak x-dyno tq= 71.21oz.-in@22,500, n peak x-dyno rpm=41,000.
Losi-Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 08:41 AM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I heard you need to seal the carb with something? The carbs have a leak issue or something?
__________________
Chuck Harris
Luckylinedesigns@yahoo.com
702-373-0505
chuckharrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Magic G4 Motorman Nitro On-Road 11759 12-09-2016 05:09 AM
Team Orion CRF Wasp Rev X-Dyno results Nano Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 1531 11-07-2010 01:43 AM
2009 MNL Buggy and Truggy Series Race (5) Danny Teh Malaysian R/C Racers 691 12-03-2009 01:26 AM
2007 Singapore Invitational Challenge 2; Marine Parade RCMC phlim Singapore R/C Racers 904 06-28-2007 05:13 AM
Just Hobby 1/10 GP Challenge justhobby Singapore R/C Racers 52 05-10-2007 09:14 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net