R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2008, 03:38 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default 1st time tuning

im about to get a used 8-t with a modded 427 and am wondering how i should go about tuning it. the motor has 1/2 gallon through it and was run in colorado(high) and i live in nc(low). im not even sure where to start so if someone could give me a quick run down on what i should do that would be great.
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 03:42 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
jrwoodchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northampton, Massachusettes
Posts: 1,336
Default

I just moved from Colorado to lower alltitude. I found that I was about 3 hours richer here in texas. Check to see if a head shim is in there for 30% at lower alltitude, we don't need them up there. Did you get it from a racer there?
__________________
Doug
TLR 22/M-11

“Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.”
jrwoodchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 03:53 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

yes he said he raced it he also says run 30% and use mc-9 plugs. i havent gotten it yet its in the mail.
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 04:15 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
jrwoodchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northampton, Massachusettes
Posts: 1,336
Default

If it was a Colorado based car. I'm sure "Pro Mod" did the mod on the engine. They specialize in high altitude mods, and widley prased. Courious how it will do down there.
__________________
Doug
TLR 22/M-11

“Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.”
jrwoodchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 04:29 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

im also interested, hopefully i wont have any problems. as long as i can get it to run good i will be happy, but like i said before i dont even have a clue about tuning.
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:28 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 299
Default

If you have no clue about tuning this will explain everything from tuning, reading glow plug, pinch test ect. Google Paris Racing Products
Jesussaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:37 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ippy QLD
Posts: 109
Default

just put everything back to flush and start over
cm27456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 09:51 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

you may want to try a med or hot plug. The MC 9 is a cold plug.

Good Luck
__________________
hbracing.com tritonrc.com raceaka.com
scwrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 02:58 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I have been using a MC9 cold plug in my lightly modded 427 running 30% with one added .1 mm shim. Seems to run perfectly here in CA with the 95-110 degree dry heat. Might try an mc8 when it cools down a little. MC8 with stock shims was too hot runnin 30%.
PerryJ676 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 03:16 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what do u shim??, the plug
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 03:27 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
t0adman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

No, the engine head to create more or less gap between the plug element and the top of the piston.
t0adman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 03:31 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

so what u would have to take the head off, where would u find a spacer? is it something u find at the lhs under spacer lol. sorry im new to the nitro thing
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI R40 Nitro Car Forum EVOLUTION Nitro On-Road 11979 06-26-2012 07:57 PM
Team Xray -MALAYSIA- MAVICXXX Malaysian R/C Racers 1168 03-15-2012 02:28 AM
EP 1/10 Touring zafira2310 Indonesia Racing 10142 06-18-2010 11:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net