R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2008, 09:10 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 5
Default Burning Plugs By The Tank

I have a REVO 3.3 that I have run approx. 20-25 tanks of 20% through. I am burning plugs by the tank it seems like. I have tried several different plugs from TRAXXAS, but they keep burning up. I have been through 8-10 in the past 6 weeks.

They tend to burn up after 10-15 minutes of run-time, killing the engine immediately. I have been runing the engine on the rich side, but the plugs are not gooping up when they burn.

Please help. Thanks.
gatorjit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:16 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

Having it too rich and foul plugs out too but I've never had any plugs go out by the tank. But I stay away from anything traxxas...
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:20 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 5
Default Thanks

Thanks for the response.

Would you suggest moving over to O.S. plugs to help?
gatorjit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:21 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
jrwoodchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northampton, Massachusettes
Posts: 1,336
Default

look to see if the element is pounded up in. I'm thinking it is, and youre too rich.
__________________
Doug
TLR 22/M-11

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.
jrwoodchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:23 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 5
Default

The actual element has been distorted on the majority of the plugs that burnt. I leaned the engine out tonight and will run it tomorrow if I can find a shop open to get some plugs.
gatorjit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:57 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
moeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I was blowing plugs when I had overleaned the top to compensate for a dirty rich bottom. Go Tech...
moeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 11:31 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

adding a shim under the button head might help
Genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 11:35 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 5
Default

I have heard of placing 2-3 extra o-rings under the plug. Out of curiosity, how does this help solve the issue?
gatorjit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:02 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

My understanding is its a clearance and compression issue. By adding or reducing shims under the button head you change these 2 factors.

Just yesterday after changing my button head from a turbo to a standard I blew my plug after my first run. I added a .02 shim, problem solved. Just thinking that if its not tuning this might help. Adding a shim under your plug is totally different from adding under the button head. There should only be one copper washer under a standard plug. Hope this helps
Genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:06 AM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the info.

I will see if I can resolve the issue by tightening up the tuning. If not, I will look at a shim.
gatorjit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 04:05 AM   #11
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,782
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

If you were not having this problem before with this motor then you probably need a rod. Loose rod bearings or a stretched rod allows the piston to come up higher, increasing compression and destroying the plug. Replace the rod (or just get a better motor) or for a quick and cheap fix, add a head shim and run it until it blows.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:03 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
GHETTOTEACHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
If you were not having this problem before with this motor then you probably need a rod. Loose rod bearings or a stretched rod allows the piston to come up higher, increasing compression and destroying the plug. Replace the rod (or just get a better motor) or for a quick and cheap fix, add a head shim and run it until it blows.
+1

also check your front bearings and block for leaks.
__________________
Herolin <---Traded my Airtronics for an Ipad and Laptop...
Soon to be GHETTOPRINCIPAL..
GHETTOTEACHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:05 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
GHETTOTEACHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
If you were not having this problem before with this motor then you probably need a rod. Loose rod bearings or a stretched rod allows the piston to come up higher, increasing compression and destroying the plug. Replace the rod (or just get a better motor) or for a quick and cheap fix, add a head shim and run it until it blows.
+1

also check your front bearings and block for leaks. You may also want to go with a warm/cold plug
__________________
Herolin <---Traded my Airtronics for an Ipad and Laptop...
Soon to be GHETTOPRINCIPAL..
GHETTOTEACHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 10:02 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Jesse Robbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to Jesse Robbers
Default

When the connecting rod is worn out/sloppy or bad it wil blow plugs really fast. So maybe check the rod bushing fit to the crank pin out. The engine should be shimmed OK/conservatively from the manufacturer for compression and if the coil in the plug is being pushed into the plug body, then adding more compression to the engine (less head shims) will only make it worse.
__________________
Sponsored by: O.S. Speed, KO Propo, Sidewinder, Tekin, Thunder Power, Lunsford, Skipgear.com, Fioroni, Avid R/C, GMK Supply, Competition Heat, Dialed Inc., LiveRC.com, DE Racing, CIG2O, ANDROID Nitro Runtime Calculator App
Jesse Robbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirio S21 CL7B .21 Long Stroke marki Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 398 10-12-2011 01:23 AM
Head Clearance 54 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 13 03-24-2010 02:02 PM
Engine Tuning 101 (General Tuning) Kemorc Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 41 11-19-2007 06:04 PM
Tuning Guide for Nitro? K_King Electric Off-Road 6 02-16-2007 03:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net