R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2008, 07:07 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
mp3ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winchester, Va
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Spektrum DX3R ?

What do you all think about the Spektrum DX3R . I am think about getting
one.
__________________
va-scaler.com
www.hobbyhutt.com
www.bluemonkeyrc.com
mp3ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 07:11 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
carlosm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I have one and I really like it. Only 4 AA bateries and they last for a long time. My only complaint is the display is really hard to read in bright sunlight conditions, but I would imagine most controllers are this way.
__________________
Carlos Macias
Durango - DNX408, DESC410, DEX210
LutzRC.com - AnswerRC - Kal-Gard - Acendancy Racing - PT RC Silicone's
BuckarooGear.com
carlosm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 07:21 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MEAKIN PARK,QLD,AUS
Posts: 741
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

i have one and a few friends also and we have all had some binding issues with the new recievers accasionally they would just unbind ,i am using the old dx3 reciever with it have been for quite a while now with no probs but my mates are still getting the occasional drama with the dsm2 ones
meakinracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 07:54 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Lars Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Lars Johnson
Default

Lots of info here, and here.

The binding issues were only on the early production models of the DX3R, if you get one now, it won't have any issues unless it's been sitting on the shelf for a while. Click here for the bind bulletin information, it's only limited to radios with a certain serial number listed there, and these were all 1st run radios, all newer ones won't fall under this bulletin.

I've been using mine since December, and I have gotten so used to the weight of the DX3R that it's truly hard for me to try and drive other guys' cars who use M11's or Futaba radios. It's very easy to use and make quick adjustments as well, it'd be very hard for me to start over using a heavier radio with more complex menu navigation. Just my $.02...
__________________
Team Associated / Reedy / AKA / Futaba / OS Engines / Byrons Fuel / www.steelescycle.com
Lars Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 08:40 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
mp3ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winchester, Va
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the good info
__________________
va-scaler.com
www.hobbyhutt.com
www.bluemonkeyrc.com
mp3ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:01 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
bgbelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,980
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Bought mine yesterday and got it bound but that's basically it. I've got a new motor to break in and it's been raining all day and my real car broke down so i got nasty soaked fixing that. Hopefully both cars are ready to go by Sunday.
__________________
''Life's tough ........
it's even tougher if you're stupid..''
-- John Wayne
bgbelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:06 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
bgbelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,980
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars Johnson View Post
Lots of info here, and here.

The binding issues were only on the early production models of the DX3R, if you get one now, it won't have any issues unless it's been sitting on the shelf for a while. Click here for the bind bulletin information, it's only limited to radios with a certain serial number listed there, and these were all 1st run radios, all newer ones won't fall under this bulletin.

I've been using mine since December, and I have gotten so used to the weight of the DX3R that it's truly hard for me to try and drive other guys' cars who use M11's or Futaba radios. It's very easy to use and make quick adjustments as well, it'd be very hard for me to start over using a heavier radio with more complex menu navigation. Just my $.02...
Thanks for the link
__________________
''Life's tough ........
it's even tougher if you're stupid..''
-- John Wayne
bgbelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:35 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 52
Default

I bought mine a few weeks back. I've heard that the antenna is real fragile and breaks easy. And then I came up on a thread here. I saw someone doing the antenna mod to it so I did it to mine as well. I had to bend the antenna a bit to install the back plate. It was also hell to get the LCD and transmitter module to back to their proper places. I had to use a small screwdriver wrapped in a clean fuel line to move it into place. I tested it to see if there was a range reduction of any kind by driving the car to about twice the length or about 4 times the width of the track I was at and felt no difference. You wouldn't be going anywhere near that far anyways.

p@dDy
paddyhong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 11:36 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,145
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

I bought the radio and bound it to one of the 3500 receivers so I cannot comment on the new receiver. I can say the radio is great. It is so light. Very easy to navigate and use. My KO radio (which I also think is a great radio) is for sale right now.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 05:56 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
cdbias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 230
Default

Can anyone post a link to the antennae modification?
__________________
Thank You,
Casey Bias

Tekno RC | Jconcepts| Trinity | Hobbywing | MKS Servos | Elevation Sports | Code 3 RC |
cdbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 05:21 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
mp3ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winchester, Va
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Thumbs up

I just got back from trying my new DX3R. It is like night and day . I don't see the delay like did with my m8. The throttle fills lot smother now
__________________
va-scaler.com
www.hobbyhutt.com
www.bluemonkeyrc.com
mp3ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 06:39 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
pl_unc86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I just sold mine the other day. Not saying that it is a bad radio, but it seemed to lite for me and it always felt kinda odd....i went back to the M11 which i think is much better.
pl_unc86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 12:57 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
bgbelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,980
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdbias View Post
Can anyone post a link to the antennae modification?
www.spektrum.com
__________________
''Life's tough ........
it's even tougher if you're stupid..''
-- John Wayne
bgbelden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:50 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
El Tigre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mp3ranger View Post
What do you all think about the Spektrum DX3R . I am think about getting
one.
Get it...get it now. If you are takin a crap, stop and get it now. If you are makin relations with your woman, stop and get it now. It's like the Ipod of radios with the one touch click wheel and it's so light it's like an extension of your arm. 30 min mains will mean nothing to you. Read the direction three time before you start messing with the settings. Once you understand how Steering Rate, Exponential, and End point travel work, other than the normal handling tunning you will be able to dial your car in from the radio ON THE FLY!!

Get it now......
El Tigre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:23 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
pull-start's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dirty Jerzee
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

The DX3R is a MUST HAVE radio. The Upgrade Skin makes it better as well.



pull-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spektrum DX3R Discussion Thread MadRacer Radio and Electronics 2015 05-10-2017 12:45 PM
Spektrum RC DX3S Telemetry radio system. UK.hardcore Radio and Electronics 751 10-30-2013 05:02 PM
SPEKTRUM DX3R Radio Controller / Starter Box pathfind1275 Malaysian R/C Racers 14 04-15-2009 06:57 PM
Spektrum DX3R or DX3S???? aiyoaiya Malaysian R/C Racers 180 03-10-2009 03:14 AM
Just Hobby 1/10 Onroad GP Sedan Challenge ( 13 July 2008, Race 4 ) justhobby Singapore R/C Racers 9 07-17-2008 08:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net