R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
wild gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the land of church stickers
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default upgrading to a lipo RX pack

I have been thinking about switching up my RX pack from a standard to a lipo pack. I have a question though, will switching make my servo speed a little faster? I swore I read a lipo pack works at a little higher voltage than the standard. Can someone tell me the benefits and drawbacks of switching to lipo. Can someone also recommend a decent charger that wont break the bank.

If all goes as plan, I will switch my starter box over to lipo as well
__________________
RCtech - Filling me with adult drama since 2003
wild gopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 03:53 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Making the switch to lipo will make your servo speed faster and improve the torque especially if you run them direct (without a voltage regulator). You will have to make sure your servos and receiver can handle the extra voltage. I think you won't gain much servo performance using a 6 volt regulator though.

I use a 7 volt regulator from HT Batteries and the increse in servo performance is really noticable.

http://www.htbatteries.com/Public_html/Rx%20Packs.htm

There are only a few servos that can handle the 7.4 volts directly. Hitec being one of them.
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:01 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
wild gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the land of church stickers
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Good to know.....I run Hitec servos
__________________
RCtech - Filling me with adult drama since 2003
wild gopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:06 PM   #4
K_B
Tech Master
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild gopher View Post
Good to know.....I run Hitec servos
Don't take what Tree said as being that ALL Hitec servos can handle 7.4V. Only a few select models can handle the higher voltage...
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:16 PM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_B View Post
Don't take what Tree said as being that ALL Hitec servos can handle 7.4V. Only a few select models can handle the higher voltage...

Very true.

what truck are u planning on adding the lipo too wild gopher ?
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:28 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
carlosm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I've running Lipo since last fall and have been very happy with the ProTech (Amain Brand) stuff. I would reccomend running a regulator regaurdless of what your servos can "handle". I just run my regulator between the switch and receiver. You can put the regulator in the batty box or if the box is tight like the on the 8 your can mount the regulator on the top of the receiver box. This is better becuase you can see the LED lights.

Here's the Regulator:
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/13509

Here's the battery: (They have a couple of different styles, this is the one I run)
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/13508

As for the Charger I would get a good balancing charger that charges throught the balancing plug. There is one made by Tenergy that does this, it also gives you the individual voltages of each cell. You may also see this charger co-branded by Common Sense RC.. A friend of mine has this charger and it will be my next investment.... Here's a link you may also find it cheaper at other stores, occasionally I've seen it on Ebay too: http://www.all-battery.com/index.asp...OD&ProdID=1644
__________________
Carlos Macias
Durango - DNX408, DESC410, DEX210
LutzRC.com - AnswerRC - Kal-Gard - Acendancy Racing - PT RC Silicone's
BuckarooGear.com
carlosm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:34 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild gopher View Post
I have been thinking about switching up my RX pack from a standard to a lipo pack. I have a question though, will switching make my servo speed a little faster? I swore I read a lipo pack works at a little higher voltage than the standard. Can someone tell me the benefits and drawbacks of switching to lipo. Can someone also recommend a decent charger that wont break the bank.

If all goes as plan, I will switch my starter box over to lipo as well
The advantage is that the servos will get consistent voltage. making the servos feel the same the whole heat. Don't buy the protex regulators!
They SUCK! I'm now trying the Castle Creations regulator.

OH yeah i would get the checkpoint charger..
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:37 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Townsville
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree View Post
Making the switch to lipo will make your servo speed faster and improve the torque especially if you run them direct (without a voltage regulator). You will have to make sure your servos and receiver can handle the extra voltage. I think you won't gain much servo performance using a 6 volt regulator though.

I use a 7 volt regulator from HT Batteries and the increse in servo performance is really noticable.

http://www.htbatteries.com/Public_html/Rx%20Packs.htm

There are only a few servos that can handle the 7.4 volts directly. Hitec being one of them.
Lipo will not make it your servo's any faster but they will deliver a constant voltage so the speed will be the same for the entire lipo charge. A NiMH or NiCd will be the same speed initially but slow down as the pack discharges this is due to the voltage dropping.
Loop&Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 06:24 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,765
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

I am using lipo this year and it is great. I can charge the pack at home and it will last me a night of racing. a few practice tanks 3 quals and a 15 min main.

I am using the Losi regulator

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/16549

And a protek pack for the 808.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/15789
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 07:40 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
lowey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 356
Default

I've been using lipo for a couple of months now and highly recomend them... That being said, I recommend using a regulator, as a fully charged lipo puts out over 8.4 volts... even if your servos can handle this voltage, it will shorten there life span!

Oh, i'm using a Novak regulator, Protek flat pack and an i-max charger with good results!
lowey79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:02 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
wild gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the land of church stickers
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

thanks for all the replies. I plan on using this in my 8T. However, after going to my LHS to check out Lipo's, I saw an Xray XT8 sitting there smiling at me. I used to run Xray and I scratch my head sometimes and wonder why I changed.
__________________
RCtech - Filling me with adult drama since 2003
wild gopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 10:01 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
supralative's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to supralative Send a message via Yahoo to supralative
Default

Me and my race buddy just made the switch to Lipos in buggy and transmitter.
We both are running the Pro Tek pack and the Pro Tek regulator. Local has been running the Pro Tek regulator with good luck so we gave it a shot.
Servo speed isnt really faster, but will stay at the constant peak speed since its getting 6V from beginning to end of the heat usually.
Biggest benefit for me I think is the transmitter. I hated plugging in my 3PK after every heat. No I can go like 3wks to a month before a charge on the transmitter.
__________________
Son N.
www.hyperspeedmotorsports.com
www.oklahomanitroclub.com
supralative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 10:48 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
wild gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the land of church stickers
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

ive felt the weight difference on a tx as well.....it is so light
__________________
RCtech - Filling me with adult drama since 2003
wild gopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 04:30 AM   #14
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I've just made the switch to lipo in both my txs - was using 2300Sanyos, now 3300 3S ProTek. Lipo is lighter and lasts much longer between charges as others have pointed out. I'm headed toward lipo for rx pacs also, but will wait for my NiMH pacs to fade, they're still pretty new.

As far as a charger, I use lipo in my BL conversions so I have a solid charger that will charge and balance all my lipo. If you'e jusyt looking for a lipo capable charger for rx pac, something like this will work and is inexpensive -

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/22612
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net