R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2008, 08:42 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Exclamation RB WS7II over heating

How many shims are supposed to be on the WS7III standard plug?
I'm having trouble with my ws7III over heating i feel that im running it rich but it still pushes near 300. Any ideas?
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 08:50 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
spork01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Milford, NJ
Posts: 138
Default

how many turns are the needles
__________________
Charles Bruno
Serpent, Desoto Racing, Team Maclan, Cruizin' with R/Cs
spork01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 08:52 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

If you are running 30% you are supposed to add one thin .1mm shim. You do not have to it will still run fine. Sounds like you leaned out your bottom way too much. Fatten the bottom maybe half a turn, or back to factory if you know what that was. Run it and get it really close with the top needle then just clean up the bottom. I never turned my low end needle more than 3 hours from factory.
katjim00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 09:16 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

i have 5 and 1/4 on the bottom and like 3 on top... its pretty close to factory.. I asked about shims because i added one and i got this engine used. so how many shims come stock on the engine..
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 09:27 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, So Cal
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

It comes with 1 .2mm and 1 .1mm shim. You should be adding 1 .1mm shim for 30%.

If it is running 300 degrees it is not too rich. It is either too lean, or has an air leak.

What plug are you running?
__________________
Orange RC8 with a bunch of crap in it.
largeorangefont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 09:41 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

running an odonelle 99 plug losi 30% fuel.. i just added a .1mm shim before all this and its still hitting high temps... I know that its not too rich.. but i have it cranked up on the needles to where it wont run if i got any richer. i felt i had clutch problems but i dont know if that relates to it. just a lot of clutch slipping.
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 10:19 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, So Cal
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

clutch problems absolutely relate to it, and are probably the root of your problem. Fix the clutch.
__________________
Orange RC8 with a bunch of crap in it.
largeorangefont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 10:58 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

well im not sure if i even have a clutch problem =]... but im picking up some shoes and just rebuilding anyways and probably seal up the carb.
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 05:27 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by katjim00 View Post
If you are running 30% you are supposed to add one thin .1mm shim. You do not have to it will still run fine. Sounds like you leaned out your bottom way too much. Fatten the bottom maybe half a turn, or back to factory if you know what that was. Run it and get it really close with the top needle then just clean up the bottom. I never turned my low end needle more than 3 hours from factory.
+1

I was having a problem with heat on my RB. i could not get it under control until I got the lsn set correctly. Place hsn back to factory maybe 2 hours rich and work the lsn until engine is running with temps in the normal range. Normal being about 200-220 closer to 200. Once you get the lsn set you can practicaly adjust the hsn needle and judge temp by the hour of turn. I can now literally turn my hsn and know what temp the engine is within 5 degrees. The other thing you may want consider is. You bought it used can that be the problem?
__________________
KO PROPO EURUS
Kyosho: TKI3, TKIe Tekin RX8 Gen2
vladconnery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 07:18 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 180
Default

one thing about that engine is it likes to run very rich my needles where always around fatcory only prob was could only get 7 mins max with the engine but it was good engien have it as a backup.
adz06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heating Cells during first charge... cRIMSON_dAWN Rookie Zone 7 04-01-2007 11:24 PM
How to prevent motor from over heating? N15M0 Rookie Zone 2 07-16-2005 01:58 AM
over heating!!! drifting Electric On-Road 55 10-08-2004 04:44 PM
motor over heating thuglove Rookie Zone 7 04-26-2003 04:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net