R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 08-02-2008, 07:51 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Default carb rebuild tips?

I need to go over my carb on my OS 21vg. Does anyone have a good link on how to do this properly? I plan to clean the outside, take it off the engine, unscrew the HSN, LSN, and idle screw (can I?). Clean the whole inside out with denatured alcohol. I'm looking for any dirt in there or torn or hard o-rings then maybe put a dab of green slime on the o-rings if they are still like new or get a carb rebuild kit if needed and just carefully put all the pieces back in. Is there anything I can really do wrong? I though I saw a post here in the last few months about someone screwing up their LSN by not putting it back together correctly or something like that. Let me know any tips I need since I have never done this one before!
bjr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 08:02 PM   #2
Tech Regular

Oh yeah. If I take the LSN needle out and loosen the collar around it won't the collar come off, allowing me to take the rubber slide boot off and take out the whole slide assembly?
Old 08-03-2008, 01:51 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjr48 View Post
Oh yeah. If I take the LSN needle out and loosen the collar around it won't the collar come off, allowing me to take the rubber slide boot off and take out the whole slide assembly?
To remove the throttle slide, all you need to do is remove the idle screw and remove the boot from the carb body. The slide/boot assembly will then fall out.
lowey79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:13 AM   #4
Tech Regular

Thanks lowey79, I didn't know that. That should save some frustration or possible damage.