R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2008, 03:09 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mission, B.C
Posts: 116
Default RB C6BBT, what other plugs can I use?

Just wondering if anyone can list what other brands of plugs you are using with success in your Turbo C6's.

RB Plugs are costly and scarce in my area, any input is appreciated.

I also plan to run Byrons Gen 2 30% Nitro, should I be adding a headshim. I am at sea level.

Thanks Sean.
savagebeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:12 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, So Cal
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

O'donnell and Rossi plugs will work.

OS plugs won't.

Yes, I would add a .1mm head shim.
__________________
Orange RC8 with a bunch of crap in it.
largeorangefont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:18 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Any nova made plug, Novarossi, RB, JP, Top, Rex, etc. Do NOT use OS plugs. Haven't tried Odonnell.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:20 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Also, the C6 should run fine on 30% without adding a shim but since you are worried about plug prices go ahead and add it. Plugs will last longer.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:59 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mission, B.C
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks for the quick reply guys.

Cheers
savagebeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:02 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

the odonnel turbo plugs are pretty good and seem to last a long time
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:23 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: N.H.
Posts: 1,221
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Just woundering, why dont o.s. plugs work for the c6?
Pete G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:24 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: N.H.
Posts: 1,221
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Just wondering, why dont o.s. plugs work for the c6?
Pete G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:25 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, So Cal
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The taper is different on OS plugs. FYI - Standard OS plugs are shorter than normal plugs.
__________________
Orange RC8 with a bunch of crap in it.
largeorangefont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:31 PM   #10
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

OS plugs will fit and the motor will run fine but due to a different taper they may leak. If you crank down hard to try and kill the leak you will distort the taper in the head and then all other plugs may leak.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 07:39 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mission, B.C
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by largeorangefont View Post
O'donnell and Rossi plugs will work.

OS plugs won't.

Yes, I would add a .1mm head shim.
I was under the impression that the O'donnell Turbo plugs worked in the V-spec, which would contradict using them in a Nova based engine...

Can anyone comment on this?

Thanks
savagebeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 05:32 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

OD97T is the only plug you need to have

C6 runs great on it
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 10:08 PM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,332
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Isn't the Dynamite plug the same as the O'donnel..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 03:42 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

If you run 30%, Rb and Rody reccommend an extra head shim.

www.rb-usa.com check out the forums, many times this has been answered.

I have an OS plug in my C6L2G and am having no problems, yet anyway....

good luck with yours!
Cvdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:02 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

How many shims come with the WS7III standard plug? I got mine used I just never fucked with it and been running 30%.
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RB C6BBT L2G or OS Speed 21. josh_c Nitro Off-Road 44 09-10-2008 07:47 AM
running 30% tq fuel in a c6bbT losiracer22 Nitro Off-Road 4 07-04-2008 10:28 AM
20% byrons gen 2 in a c6bbT losiracer22 Nitro Off-Road 15 06-28-2008 10:36 AM
* * * * V-SPEC & RB C6BBT FOR SALE * * * * holechit R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 05-30-2008 01:20 PM
OS V-Spec vs RB C6BBT Kiowa Nitro Off-Road 31 02-29-2008 07:55 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net