R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 07-14-2008, 09:11 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Thinking about a 1/8 buggy, maybe.

Hi guys. I'm new here, but not new the hobby. I have a little of everything, except a buggy. I'm not really a racer, just more of a back yard basher, although if I could find something happening close to home, I would definitely consider getting into the race scene. It looks like a lot of fun.

Anyway, I've been eyeing up the Jammin X1-CR Factory Team Buggy. It looks like a really nice model. It's readily available and so are the parts at my favorite place to shop. I was thinking of going with this buggy and an O.S. .21 VZ-B Al Spec engine. I wanted to put this engine into my Revo 3.3, which has been seriously upgraded, but I got to thinking it would really shine in a lighter, more agile machine, like a buggy.

As I said, I'm new to buggies, so I have some questions. I'm wondering how durable the Jammin X1-CR is. I would mostly be ripping around the yard, in short grass, and more often gravel or dirt. How would this buggy handle short grass? How fast could I expect this thing to go with the VZ-B engine? Is it possible to do gear changes? I would assume so. Also, compared to my Revo, I noticed there isn't a lot of upgraded parts available for this buggy. Is that how it is with all buggies? They make a ton of stuff for the Revo, but it looks like beyond better shock towers and such, there isn't a whole lot to worry about. I have to say I like that. It will save me money in the long run. Most of my RCs end up being money pits because I get all the upgrades I can for them. At least this wouldn't be the case.