R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2008, 02:30 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default twitching throttle servo

what could be some of the causes for this
mine starting twitching and i cant figure out why,i changed my receiver in the car but it didnt help,its started twitchin and will not respond to the the radio,just sits and jumps
thanks
cheezy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 02:43 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezy91 View Post
what could be some of the causes for this
mine starting twitching and i cant figure out why,i changed my receiver in the car but it didnt help,its started twitchin and will not respond to the the radio,just sits and jumps
thanks
did you get it wet?

maybe your wire has been cut/damaged?

Its probably not your receiver. does the other servo work fine and strong? its probably not he battery.

Did the servo take a hard impact? or did it ust start happening one day?

what kind of servo is it? is it a cheap junk one?
new to rc cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 03:17 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

weak batteries would certainly cause this...

radio or car
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 04:10 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to pinky2252s Send a message via MSN to pinky2252s
Default

I know this might seem rude but

do you have your crystals in it? are they the same?



ive noticed that if i just leave my car on and not my radio my cell phone can make the servos twitch
__________________
Procrastinators Unite!.....Tomorrow
Team Terribles
pinky2252s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 04:16 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
TC3ElectricGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

your servo is dead. keep it for spares (gearing) if it's a decent servo.

if it's still in warrenty then get it sent away and fixed.

i had a brand new hitec 85MG do this to me after 2 hours flight time with no hard impact what so ever.
TC3ElectricGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 05:51 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

well its a dx3r=no crystals
and it did not get wet
ill plug another servo in and see if it does it
battery shows 7.0 volts
cheezy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 05:53 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezy91 View Post
well its a dx3r=no crystals
and it did not get wet
ill plug another servo in and see if it does it
battery shows 7.0 volts
7 volts is too low. I assume youre using eight AA batteries which should be about 11-12 volts at a full charge.

I am betting that this "other servo" works fine.

What kind of servo are you having problems with?
new to rc cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:10 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
jyfz2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: birmingham
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

he said he is using dx3r it runs on less voltage its a feature of the radio thats not the problem
jyfz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:16 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyfz2 View Post
he said he is using dx3r it runs on less voltage its a feature of the radio thats not the problem
oh ok.

I have a dx3 and full batteries show 11.5v, then it dies at 7.0v... kinda weird.
new to rc cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:28 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

its a hi tec 5625
the radio shows 5.5 volts
the receiver battery is a lipo and it shows 7.0 volts
cheezy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:33 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

have you tired a different servo?
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:34 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i wll try a different servo to see if thats it
cheezy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 07:49 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezy91 View Post
its a hi tec 5625
the radio shows 5.5 volts
the receiver battery is a lipo and it shows 7.0 volts
http://cgi.ebay.com/Supermaxx-hitec-...QQcmdZViewItem

is that your servo?

I had one like that and it did the same thing, no offense but its a junk servo, yours is prob fried... but thats fine, its only a 10$ servo.

I would invest about 60$ and get a decent throttle servo. not something too strong but that has a fast reaction time. I usually go for the ones that have "300" oz of torque for steering, but those are about 110$.
new to rc cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:31 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ok guys i changed the servo out and it seem to solve the problem
went back with a hi tec 645
thanks for all the help
cheezy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throttle servo for GT2? d16dcoe45 Nitro Off-Road 18 04-12-2008 09:17 AM
Servo twitching th3ha1og0d Radio and Electronics 0 01-09-2008 11:08 PM
Steering servo and Throttle servo same speed? straightaway Nitro On-Road 4 11-06-2007 07:21 PM
Airtronics 94537 Servo Throttle Servo HS Imdadundada7 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 23 06-19-2006 08:55 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:09 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net