R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2008, 07:30 AM   #16
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,785
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Interesting. It's been several years since I ran an OS standard plug in anything (in fact, I don't use ANY standard plugs anymore) but the last time I did they worked fine. A friend of mine still uses OS standards in his RB without problems but maybe others are not so lucky.

Easy solution to this problem. From the motors you listed as wanting to try, get the Picco with a turbo head and use OS turbo plugs.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 07:52 AM   #17
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezveedub View Post
If they only sell OS plugs in Dubai, what engine are you trying glowplugs for?
Maybe the GRP .21 standard or turbo, JPX.21, Go Tech 5port turbo, RB S3 or S5.
joydude630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 07:53 AM   #18
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Interesting. It's been several years since I ran an OS standard plug in anything (in fact, I don't use ANY standard plugs anymore) but the last time I did they worked fine. A friend of mine still uses OS standards in his RB without problems but maybe others are not so lucky.

Easy solution to this problem. From the motors you listed as wanting to try, get the Picco with a turbo head and use OS turbo plugs.
By the way are all turbo heads the same?
joydude630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 08:10 AM   #19
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,785
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joydude630 View Post
By the way are all turbo heads the same?
No, they all use the same thread but the taper/depth is slightly different. OS plugs in Nova motors or vice versa can leak.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 10:01 AM   #20
Tech Master
 
zJatoRad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: McAllen, TX
Posts: 1,568
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to zJatoRad
Default

i've read some people are using O.S. turbo plugs in their GRP's, my dad once used a OS p3 plug on his picco .12 red dot and it ran fine, and if you go with the GO 5 port, you will have no problems running O.S. plugs.
__________________
"Smooth is Slow, and Slow is Fast"
zJatoRad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 10:12 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joydude630 View Post
Maybe the GRP .21 standard or turbo, JPX.21, Go Tech 5port turbo, RB S3 or S5.
Now I'm really lost. Your trying to get glow plugs for all those engines?
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 11:07 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezveedub View Post
Now I'm really lost. Your trying to get glow plugs for all those engines?
Nope. Read on other forums that users have been using OS P3 successfully in their GRP, JPX.21 and the GO 5 port. So just need to decide on one of them and rest is my luck.
joydude630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 11:58 AM   #23
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,846
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I think you've found your solution. If you choose a turbo plug engine you will have broader choices for which can be run on the OS plugs that are available to you.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 01:35 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

OK, so my point is, if you can purchase a different engine other than an OS, I can't see why you can't get glowplugs for it also. Is the importer in Dubai bringing in other brand engines only with no parts to go with them? If so, I wouldn't bother to purchase them if you have no parts available.

As for OS plugs in other brands, Go Tech, I believe, is the only manufacturer to state they use OS type glowplugs. Other than that, I personally don't swap glowplugs brands around. For some it works, some it doesn't
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 10:18 PM   #25
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 183
Default

Hey ezveedub,

In Dubai, hobby shops only sell the OS, Novarossi and JP.

Novarossi - no parts available
JP Eagle - way to expensive and its a monster
OS - everyone sells them, parts readily available

I have 3 OS engines. But really want to try something different. On the race track you will only see OS engines. So got bored.

JPX.21 no parts available on amain hobbies. I am now leaning towards the GRP or Go Tech 5 Port.

As you said, Go Tech 5 Port is the only manufacturer to state they use OS type glowplugs. But GRP does not state that and for some it works, some it doesn't.
joydude630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 10:23 PM   #26
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,846
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joydude630 View Post
Hey ezveedub,

In Dubai, hobby shops only sell the OS, SH, Novarossi and JP.

JPX.21 no parts available on amain hobbies. I am now leaning towards the GRP or Go Tech 5 Port.
For what it's worth, the Jammin JPX .21 is exactly the same engine as the Picco P7r and all the parts of the Picco will fit. I don't know if that helps any.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 10:36 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidka View Post
For what it's worth, the Jammin JPX .21 is exactly the same engine as the Picco P7r and all the parts of the Picco will fit. I don't know if that helps any.
Davidka - Amain don't have the Picco P7r parts. They got a new Picco P7r 3 standard engine. Even if JPX.21 had parts; only problem I would face is the glow plug.
joydude630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:36 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

If the Picco uses standard plugs, it should be like Novarossi plugs I believe, not OS. I think the Picco turbo plugs is like an OS, but I'll have to check later today.
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:46 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 66 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joydude630 View Post
I was planning to go with the OFNA Picco .21 P7R EVO3 Off-Road Competition Buggy Engine. I wonder if the engine favors the OS P3 plug.
according to Jay Halsey, he stated NOT to use a OS plugs in the jpx/evo2-3 Picco engines, it will cross thread the original threads allowing dirt to enter the engine....just some food for thought
pwnzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:51 AM   #30
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,672
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cheesecake
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwnzor View Post
according to Jay Halsey, he stated NOT to use a OS plugs in the jpx/evo2-3 Picco engines, it will cross thread the original threads allowing dirt to enter the engine....just some food for thought
well too bad ive been running the os plugs since i blew the original without any issues the novarossi plug would crossthread but the os plug went in fine
cheesecake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS P3 plugs slowpokeRRR R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 05-31-2007 09:17 PM
Anybody tried these plugs? jamiekulhanek Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 11-17-2004 06:55 AM
Rex Plugs NitroOB4You Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 2 04-03-2004 12:28 PM
Plugs and plugs and plugs Super Steve Electric On-Road 7 11-16-2003 03:17 AM
Plugs CeleryGod Electric On-Road 12 04-24-2003 07:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net