R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 06-22-2008, 05:33 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Questions?? 1/10th Nitro'S, but which one?? DBX VS Tomahawk

1/10 scale nitro buggies…

Well im new to the world of nitro, the smokes, the sounds, the power of nitro cars has attarcted me to this side of the hobby. They say once you started nitro “there’s no going back”, well if this is true than I have to get myself one of these bad boys. I searched around various online sites and some Rc Mags and I have narrowed down my search to these two models; since they fit my needs and most importantly budget… see I’m just a student so I don’t have the big bucks to go 1/8th scale.
So RC guys out there can I have suggestions or comments to help me get one of them?

First up is the KYOSHO DBX. I’ve read the concerning thread here around the forums, well there are so many good comments and then there are some that came with issues such as annoying servos that don’t work sometimes or various inconsistant builds (although this one is just a totally minor one).
I got some specs for the car:

Speed (according to a magazine which reviewed the buggy)

Maximum: 37.4 mph / 60.1 kmh
Acceleration to max speed: Approx. 6 seconds

Fuel tank capacity (Run times?) 105cc – can be upgraded.
Tools needed: Ready to Run. Only fuel and a couple of AA’s and a glow plug…

Wrenching: According to the magazine the radio box cum servo holder thing makes easy access. But reads from other forumers say that putting the whole thing back might be a pain in the as$?

Reliability and parts: I’m assuming the a product from Kyosho is a good one, and that there should be some hop ups or at least replacement parts. Im not sure whether the car is compatible with some parts from other types of buggies or if there are any aftermarkets for it. If my information is correct the engine can’t be replaced by another .18 because of the mounting? (correct me if I’m wrong)