R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2008, 10:25 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default From JP-1 to JP-3= out of tune question.

I switched last week and was finally tuned properly. But once I put the JP-3 on I was way out of tune. I am still learning to tune properly. My question is do I deal only with the high end needle to retune or both. What happened was I was getting like 7-8 mins a tank and after installiung the JP-3 I barely had 5 minutes run time.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 04:22 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Your run times will depend on the engine . Not all engines like all pipes that are available out there .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 04:42 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,785
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Generally speaking you need to get the high end tuned close before really messing with the low speed. Remember that the fuel has to go through the high speed needle to get to the low speed so adjusting the high speed will also change the low speed.

Of course, if the thing won't even idle then some adjustment may need to be made to the low speed before you can even start on the high end.
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 05:13 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Like I said it was tuned great before the change. Really what I want is my runtime back, power is good idle is awsome. So try a couple hours lean on the high? I would rather not touch the low end if I dont have to cause it was a B to get right. This only my 3rd nitro mill, I recently added racing nitro along with my electric.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:09 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

You can try leaning the HSN a little , just watch so you don`t go too lean . Even being tuned great before , it doesn`t mean squat now that you have a totally different pipe on it . Retune it till it runs great with a smoke trail at normal operating temp. You most likely won`t get the same run times as you did with the JP1 .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:46 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
NEMESIS44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Meridian,Ms.
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to NEMESIS44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malik View Post
Like I said it was tuned great before the change. Really what I want is my runtime back, power is good idle is awsome. So try a couple hours lean on the high? I would rather not touch the low end if I dont have to cause it was a B to get right. This only my 3rd nitro mill, I recently added racing nitro along with my electric.
I have found that most people can use this pretty simple method to get their engine close until they get the "feel" of tuning a nitro rig. Not saying it's the best but it's a good starting point.

Start your engine and drive aggressively for about two minutes. Check your temp. with an infrared temp. gauge. Depending on who you ask but I would try to get my temp around 220-240. If you are below that range turn your high-side needle clockwise in small increments 1/16 to 1/8 of a turn at a time until you get to desired temp. Of course, if your temp is above desired range, turn high-side needle counter-clockwise in small increments.
After achieving the engine's proper operating temp. reduce the engine throttle to idle for about 15 seconds. Now pinch the fuel line with your fingers close to the carb. fuel inlet nipple while carefully listening to the engine rpm. If the engine dies immediately without an increase in rpm,the low-side needle is set too lean. If the rpm's increase dramatically and the engine dies, the setting is too rich. The ideal setting results in the rpm's increasing a slight amount (about 200 rpm's after pinching the fuel line before dying.

Yes I copied this out of a manual, only changing a few words around. Like I said before it may not be the best method but it's a starting point. Hope this helps.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0,Werks B6, Spektrum, Savox HVs, AKA
Loving me some FRC!
NEMESIS44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:00 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,785
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Different pipes will give different results. If it is not running too hot try leaning it down a bit. If you still don't get the mileage you have some decisions to make. First off try to determine if the new pipe is making more power and if so, has this improved your laptimes? If not, switch back to the old pipe. If so, do a little numbers crunching to determine if the new pipes faster laptimes are enough to make up for the increased number of stops.
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 10:49 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Well I have only ran 1 race day with it and didnt want to play with the tune till I had advice on it. Thanks for all the info, yes the powerband is much smoother with the JP-3 and temps are similar. Should doing that switch use more fuel? I thought I would get better mileage out of the 3 because it is a more versatile pipe. I want to try to get a few tanks through it before my next race and try leaning the high 2 hours and go from there. The reason I have had trouble tuning this mill I think is because it is modded, I thought that having that done was supposed to give better mileage and cooler temps "it does run much cooler than the maker says it should".
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 05:57 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malik View Post
. The reason I have had trouble tuning this mill I think is because it is modded, I thought that having that done was supposed to give better mileage and cooler temps "it does run much cooler than the maker says it should".
If it was modded you would know it by performance and by a name or number scribed into the case .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:56 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

when changing pipes i normally go back to factory settings and start from there
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 11:00 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

The I think wasnt about it being modded I sent it out myself. I was thinking about going back to the factory settings. I am going to try to lean the high alittle and I dont have succes with that I will start over.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 02:50 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,538
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jabroni racing
Default

I may have missed it, but what type of engine is it, and who modded it????
__________________
www.facebook.com/jay3638
jabroni racing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 06:11 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Well I went and put a few tanks of fuel through it and I ended up leaning it total about 3 hours and it is much better. Bette runtime ans the JP-3 makes the power smoother all the way through, the Jp-1 was all off the line and died 3/4 of the way through. The mill is a SH 6port .28 And I sent it to a local guy, for my 1st race nitro mill it is just fine. I am getting a buggy at the end of the summer and I am going for my 1st high end mill and it will definetly be a .21. I wanted a truggy 1st as I was told to learn driving nitro on a truggy would be easier, I also race 10th scale electric and do very well with that.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i tune my savage 25 george_georgoul Monster Trucks 10 08-18-2008 12:29 AM
Chasing a Tune Akhor Nitro Off-Road 7 08-07-2008 07:12 AM
Air Leak or Tune? CraigM Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 10-24-2007 10:44 PM
FS: Tamiya TB-02 S-tune crzydrifter R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 28 05-19-2006 02:07 PM
v-one-s tune pipe geoffrey Nitro On-Road 9 04-03-2003 01:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net