R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
xlgraphicspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 2,052
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Steering servo has the shakes

I have a Futaba 9351 high torque servo. any way, I turned it on today to practice before a race and it started to shake worse than Micheal J. Fox. I was told they do that when the plastic gear wears out. I replaced that, but it still shakes. It opperated fine when it's on the ground, but in the air is when it shimmies. any idea what causes this? do I have to replace all the gears.
__________________
TeamXray RCAmerica Hudy Xlgraphicspro Paint/ Impulse-Rc Clutch shoes.
Xray XB 808 O.S. Speed Or Ninja JX
xlgraphicspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 05:21 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,481
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xlgraphicspro View Post
I have a Futaba 9351 high torque servo. any way, I turned it on today to practice before a race and it started to shake worse than Micheal J. Fox. I was told they do that when the plastic gear wears out. I replaced that, but it still shakes. It opperated fine when it's on the ground, but in the air is when it shimmies. any idea what causes this? do I have to replace all the gears.
This is a problem that seems to happen with digital servos. My Ace servor as well as my buddies AE servo do the same thing. It has something to do with centering of the servo that is causing the shake when there is no load on the servo. I stopped worrying about it, as my servo is working fine otherwise.
__________________
Edwin Hartman
Tekno RC Regional Team Manager - Southern Midwest region
Sponsors: Tekno RC - Pro-Line Racing - Tekin - LutzRC - O'Donnell Racing Fuel - TrakPower - Advantage Racing Products - Futaba - Sumo Racing
ehartman_49348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 05:41 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

One thing to look for... I broke a plastic gear in my brushless servo and upon replacing it I noticed the top case (where the pin in the gears go though) was broke. I dont know if that would cause it or not but its something to atleast look at.
blowpopracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 05:54 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
pink_sleeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Planet Melmac
Posts: 4,366
Trader Rating: 163 (99%+)
Default

A good digital servo shakes when something is worn out or broken internally because it is trying to center like its is supose to. So any slop in the greas or case will cause this. It will over time burn the motor up from overworking itself on trying to find it's center.
pink_sleeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 07:14 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,585
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blowpopracer View Post
One thing to look for... I broke a plastic gear in my brushless servo and upon replacing it I noticed the top case (where the pin in the gears go though) was broke. I dont know if that would cause it or not but its something to atleast look at.
it normally comes down to this or worn gears. But mainly the case 1st.
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 09:22 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Townsville
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xlgraphicspro View Post
I have a Futaba 9351 high torque servo. any way, I turned it on today to practice before a race and it started to shake worse than Micheal J. Fox. I was told they do that when the plastic gear wears out. I replaced that, but it still shakes. It opperated fine when it's on the ground, but in the air is when it shimmies. any idea what causes this? do I have to replace all the gears.
Some servo's will do it with no load, my 9351 does it as do some KO and JR servo's I wouldnt worry about it... it does not effect the buggy even in the air.

It could be a problem for an elevator servo, but i dont think a buggy uses elevator.
Loop&Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 09:32 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
xlgraphicspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 2,052
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

thannks for the input. I'd like to fix it if possible, maybe some thick grease in there might fix it? I'll re examin it to see if it has a case problem. I agree with the guy who posted that it may fry itself trying to center constantly.
__________________
TeamXray RCAmerica Hudy Xlgraphicspro Paint/ Impulse-Rc Clutch shoes.
Xray XB 808 O.S. Speed Or Ninja JX
xlgraphicspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 10:01 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Agree with Micro. Check the case where the shafts ride.
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 10:23 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Wildbillsphotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hammonton, New Jersey
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Wildbillsphotos
Default

There is a setting in the radio that takes care of this, although I can't remember what is is called, I overheard a few guys talking about at the track.
The new Specktrum DX3R makes it show up even more they were saying.
They said it was just a simple adjustment in the radio to stop this.
I will ask more about it this weekend and post back.
__________________
Life is too short - Hug your kid's often!
Adopt a pet and save a life!
Visit My Website: www.WildBillsPhotos.com
Mel's Shells-n-Sticky Things!
Wildbillsphotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 05:30 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
MetalShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milton, ON. CA
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbillsphotos View Post
There is a setting in the radio that takes care of this, although I can't remember what is is called, I overheard a few guys talking about at the track.
The new Specktrum DX3R makes it show up even more they were saying.
They said it was just a simple adjustment in the radio to stop this.
I will ask more about it this weekend and post back.
yeah its called rebinding... always make sure you have strong batteries in both radio and car and rebind it!! the glitching is cause by an interference in your signal when the signal is weak. Id like to believe that the problems are from "ware in the case" but that just doesn't sound accurent... if there was too much play in the case the gears would grind and make a distinctive sound... clicking or crunching
__________________
Calvin Mercer - MSPvideos
HobbyHobby Racing Team / XXXmain Inc.
MetalShield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 05:34 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Wildbillsphotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hammonton, New Jersey
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Wildbillsphotos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalShield View Post
yeah its called rebinding... always make sure you have strong batteries in both radio and car and rebind it!! the glitching is cause by an interference in your signal when the signal is weak. Id like to believe that the problems are from "ware in the case" but that just doesn't sound accurent... if there was too much play in the case the gears would grind and make a distinctive sound...

No it's not glitching it is an issue mainly with digital servos, it has to do with a sensitivity setting.
__________________
Life is too short - Hug your kid's often!
Adopt a pet and save a life!
Visit My Website: www.WildBillsPhotos.com
Mel's Shells-n-Sticky Things!

Last edited by Wildbillsphotos; 05-26-2008 at 06:01 PM. Reason: forgot word
Wildbillsphotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 05:40 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
MetalShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milton, ON. CA
Posts: 409
Default

dude, if the servo is shaking or moving without you doing it... its a glitch. definition, resistance in the signal...
__________________
Calvin Mercer - MSPvideos
HobbyHobby Racing Team / XXXmain Inc.
MetalShield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 05:50 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
MetalShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milton, ON. CA
Posts: 409
Default

I had the same problem a couple races ago and I inspected the servos internals and re-binded it and it still was there. after a more in depth look at the connection I found a small cut in the wires housing that was rubbing against the chassis. that was the resistance...
__________________
Calvin Mercer - MSPvideos
HobbyHobby Racing Team / XXXmain Inc.
MetalShield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 05:50 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,145
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalShield View Post
dude, if the servo is shaking or moving without you doing it... its a glitch. definition, resistance in the signal...
You are probably incorrect. Most of the other explanations are normally what causes the problem. Usually wear in the gear train or the case causes the servo to continue to search for center.

The term that was being sought was deadband. If you can increase the deadband the servo will most likely stop shaking. (you are making the center are wider).
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 05:59 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Wildbillsphotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hammonton, New Jersey
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Wildbillsphotos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Fisher View Post
You are probably incorrect. Most of the other explanations are normally what causes the problem. Usually wear in the gear train or the case causes the servo to continue to search for center.

The term that was being sought was deadband. If you can increase the deadband the servo will most likely stop shaking. (you are making the center are wider).

That is it! That was what they called it! They said it was a small adjustment in the deadband that was the cure. Thanks Scott for jogging my brain.
I personaly have not had this issue with my Ace digital servos yet.
__________________
Life is too short - Hug your kid's often!
Adopt a pet and save a life!
Visit My Website: www.WildBillsPhotos.com
Mel's Shells-n-Sticky Things!
Wildbillsphotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
steering servo? C_Money Electric Off-Road 7 12-07-2007 03:06 PM
Steering servo and Throttle servo same speed? straightaway Nitro On-Road 4 11-06-2007 07:21 PM
Which Steering servo for a TC3? NT Electric On-Road 7 10-25-2006 02:14 PM
RC18T servo, servo saver, and steering rack Bansheeman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-27-2005 08:27 PM
Steering Servo.... vtl1180ny Electric On-Road 1 01-20-2004 01:16 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net