R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 05-07-2008, 09:21 AM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Truggy Tires

OK, so I'm new to the way Truggy tires are measured and what some terminologies are.

LPR, is this Low Profile Ride or something? Do guys run anything else?

Offset, what's Standard vs. Half. Advantages to one over the other?

Size, what's 2.2, 2.7, 3.7?

What do I need to know so that when I order a set of tires and rims I will always have matching items and will not affect my truck in some way? I understand compounds, its the rest of it that's a little fuzzy. Thanks for your feedback.
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:28 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
OK, so I'm new to the way Truggy tires are measured and what some terminologies are.

LPR, is this Low Profile Ride or something? Do guys run anything else?

Offset, what's Standard vs. Half. Advantages to one over the other?

Size, what's 2.2, 2.7, 3.7?

What do I need to know so that when I order a set of tires and rims I will always have matching items and will not affect my truck in some way? I understand compounds, its the rest of it that's a little fuzzy. Thanks for your feedback.
LPR is low profile this it the unofficial fast setup. makes the truggys handle more like a buggy turning wise (more responsive) most the time this is the best way.

Offset is the distance from the hex to the rim face.
ZERO = 8T, STR, MBX5-T
1/2 = CRT

2.2 2.7 3.7is the rim size 2.2 is 1/10 truck size

Hope this helps
tdeal823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:42 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice

Default re

8T uses 1/2" offset wheels. The offset can make a big difference in stability and handling as it controls the overall width of the wheel base (side to side) for the car.
cherokee180c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:50 AM   #4
Tech Addict