R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2008, 08:51 AM   #1
svo
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default ofna chrome top starter box question

Is it ok to use LiPos in the chrome top?
svo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 11:04 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svo View Post
Is it ok to use LiPos in the chrome top?
Why on earth would you want to spend the money for LiPos in a starter box????
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 11:07 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
-R2-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 2,268
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

yes you can use Lipos on your starter box, I believe you would a three cell so you can stay around the 12 volt voltage and I do see alot of guys going to Lipos in there boxes to get some of the travel weight down and more run time out of there boxes.
-R2- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 11:57 AM   #4
K_B
Tech Master
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

It would also be a good idea to use a low voltage cutoff as well and make sure the lipos have a discharge rate that's high enough or you'll ruin 'em. Amain sells alot of lipos that are specifically for starter boxes. They're 4 cell, so they're 14.8V. So you get rid of alot of weight and gain some power.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 12:17 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

Most guys I know use 2 2cell lipos or 1 4cell lipo when using lipos in their starter boxes. 3 cells seems a little weak IMO. Personally I use 2 stick packs.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 01:32 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
Most guys I know use 2 2cell lipos or 1 4cell lipo when using lipos in their starter boxes. 3 cells seems a little weak IMO. Personally I use 2 stick packs.
Same here.
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 03:03 PM   #7
svo
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOMIT View Post
Why on earth would you want to spend the money for LiPos in a starter box????

What else would I do with the money??

______________

Thanks guys. I keep a close eye on all my LiPos that I use with no cutoff.
svo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 03:39 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
dgraham225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to dgraham225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svo View Post
Is it ok to use LiPos in the chrome top?

if your talking about the universal box, the big blue/chrome top, then NO, its not ok to run a lipo in it..

i read that on here a while back, they said that the amp draw of the one large motor is too much for th lipo to handle, especially under a heavy oad...

i was in the same boat, i wanted to replace with a lipo to save a little weight, that box is f'in HEAVY compared to others.. but it spins over the tightest of motors sooo good, lol!
__________________
Danny Graham
dgraham225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 03:44 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

chrome top only has a 12v motor in it..

i wouldnt run a lipo
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:33 PM   #10
svo
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Yikes, I keep hearing yes and no about the same each way.
I am still unsure if it is really safe or unsafe. Guess the only way to really find out is to try it, but I do not want that risk.

I think I may just get a new gel cell and stick with that.
I sure do not want to cause fireworks in the pits.


I wasn't wanting it for the weight difference. I mainly wanted it for the extra power and run time.

It is the box with the single BIG motor.

The thing is,..I had already ordered the battery,..got it in,.but not opened it yet. Guess i'll see if I can return it for a credit or something.


Thanks.
svo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:38 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Townsville
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOMIT View Post
Why on earth would you want to spend the money for LiPos in a starter box????
20$ 4amphr lipo in mine works great... I have the OFNA compact box with one 750 motor, much lighter and easier than a lead acid and can charge it wednesday and race sunday with no performance loss.
Loop&Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 07:15 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
tallyram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i have been running a protek 2100 starter box lipo in my chrome top for about 3 months now with no signs of damage to lipo or motor. all i can say is it spins FAST!
tallyram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:36 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,295
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loop&Roll View Post
20$ 4amphr lipo in mine works great... I have the OFNA compact box with one 750 motor, much lighter and easier than a lead acid and can charge it wednesday and race sunday with no performance loss.
Got a link to the battery?
__________________
Team Associated & CRC
Trackstar & Hobbywing esc's
Spektrum radios, GensAce batts, turnigy servos.
Keeping racing fun and affordable with my 8y.o. twins :)
The best track I've raced is the one in my backyard!
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:51 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Townsville
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrow1 View Post
Got a link to the battery?
Yeah for sure... http://www.ebay.com.au
Loop&Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 09:39 PM   #15
svo
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default

The battery I have is a ProTek 2100 mAh / 20C/ 4cell
svo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ofna Chrome Top Starter Box fastzach R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-31-2007 07:20 AM
OFNA Chrome Top Starter Box last Nitro Off-Road 12 10-08-2007 07:19 PM
(OFNA CHROME TOP) STARTER BOX icemandolmite R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 03-07-2007 09:00 AM
OFNA Chrome Top Starter Box Chrono R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 01-01-2007 03:18 PM
Ofna Chrome Starter box go1d1e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-08-2005 12:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net