R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2008, 07:31 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Cory B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Knoxville, Ia
Posts: 403
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Anybody use the Spektrum Nitro Telemetry System?

I've got the system mounted up in my 8ight with only the temp wire hooked up. My question is: I have an O.S. V-Spec .21 with the wire mounted between the head and the block and I get a reading of 275*? It still has plenty of smoke and runs great but does this seem a little high?

Has anyone else use/used one of these systems and is that accurate?

any advise or tips on this would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Cory
__________________
Wild Bill's R/C Hobbies - Knoxville, Ia
Velocity R/C www.velocityrc.net
VWings
AFX Fab
Lancebuilt Hobbies
Cory B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 08:31 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 390
Default

first off, what is your temp gun saying? If you are comfortable with that, move the temp sensor up a fin at a time until you find where the sensor matches you temp gun. Or forget about temps and go for performance
__________________
www.carolinasrc.com
derricklong38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 11:01 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

its junk.

its youve got smoke and good power.....you're good
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 11:56 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
wes95_z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norman, Ok
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have the Temp threshold on my Spec. Telemetry set at like 320, rough estimate for mine is it is actually about 280-290, when you temp it at the glow plug. I cant get my damn RPM sensor to work. Telemetry is nice to have when you are practicing though. Just gotta learn the difference between the temp the telemetry says and what your temp gun says and set the threshold accordingly. Plus it allows me to keep an eye on my reciever pack, which is a great thing for me because i get lazy about charging them, and runaways suck.
__________________
Wes

Kyosho 777 WC w/ big bores, RB S5, ACE 1313 s., Air 357 t., JP-3
HPI Savage X SS, Axial .28, Hitec 5645 Steering servo
Nitro TC3, O.S. .18 CV-R
Associated RC18T, Brushless, Lipo
wes95_z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 08:49 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Cory B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Knoxville, Ia
Posts: 403
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!

I havent matched it up with my temp gun yet. I will have to try that and move the wire up on the cooling head if needed.

The RPM sensor is a little funky to me also. I had to cut the bracket in half to accomodate the curvature of the V-Spec block. I still dont have it hooked up because the wire is too short and I cant mount it on the right side of the motor because the center diff is in the way

Thanks again for all the input guys, i appreciate it!

Cory
__________________
Wild Bill's R/C Hobbies - Knoxville, Ia
Velocity R/C www.velocityrc.net
VWings
AFX Fab
Lancebuilt Hobbies
Cory B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 01:31 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
wes95_z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norman, Ok
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yeah they didnt really use there heads to well when they designed the mount and wires for the RPM sensor.
__________________
Wes

Kyosho 777 WC w/ big bores, RB S5, ACE 1313 s., Air 357 t., JP-3
HPI Savage X SS, Axial .28, Hitec 5645 Steering servo
Nitro TC3, O.S. .18 CV-R
Associated RC18T, Brushless, Lipo
wes95_z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 08:10 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
blktransam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IOWA
Posts: 4,242
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

I have had one for a while they are nice for the longer mains like 20-20 min becuase when uj come in for pit u can spot check your engine temp and batt. voltage so your pit guy dont have to waste time temping it him self. use a exergen temp gun and adj. the loop to match the gun give or take a degree or so.
blktransam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spektrum telemetry system seajj2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-05-2008 10:49 AM
WTB Spektrum Telemetry Nitro system istor30 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 04-06-2007 04:20 PM
Spektrum Telemetry. Spektrum Nitro Telemetry Combo Pack w/ timing trigger HookaMega R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 02-12-2007 06:12 AM
FS: Spektrum Telemetry System idawina Australia For Sale/Trade 7 10-29-2006 12:47 AM
Spektrum Telemetry System (nitro) rcfoolz Nitro On-Road 70 04-29-2006 11:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net