R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2008, 01:34 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default Making the switch to lipo

I want to make the switch from NiMH to Lipo receiver packs. I bought a couple of Losi voltage regulators. I installed a new Nomadio transceiver and made all the connections. I plugged in a fully charged 7.4 volt 600mAh battery that I have for one of my electric helis (I wanted to see how well it worked with this battery I had before I spent $ on new lipo batteries).

The problem I am having is both my throttle and steering servos are glitching like crazy. When I turn the wheel the servo freezes or locks up and stays in the full turned position or is doesn't respond to any input at all. The same goes for my throttle servo. Some times the throttle servo pulsates and it doesn't respond to any throttle input from my Nomadio Sensor.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 02:43 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
shady3031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

check to see if you are using digital servos that you have selected digital under the throttle and steering settings on the radio, or the opposite if you are using analog servos. Mine did this the first time i plugged it up until i realised that i had analogs servos and the setting was for digital.
__________________
The Warehouse RC-Birmingham, AL
AE RC8.2-E Tekin powered
Alabama Manufacturers Shootout-Don't Miss It
shady3031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 03:02 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

I did check. Initially they were set for analog. I changed it to digital and I am still having these issues.
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 03:22 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

Check the actual voltage out of the regulator to make sure is around 6 volts. I have the same regulator on a Futaba setup and have no issue with digital futaba servos
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 08:36 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

I don't have a volt meter. My neighbor is an electrician maybe he can check the voltage for me tomorrow.

I am using Hitec 5955TG digital servos. I hope I can get this figured out soon. I am dying to get this truggy out there and new engine broken in.
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 12:48 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
TonysScrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Un-plug the regulator and plug the LiPo in directly to the Nomadio transceiver. The Hitec 5955 servos are made for the high voltage of a 2S LiPo pack. The personal transponder and Nomadio transceiver can handle it too. Then test to see if you still get the glitching. On a truggy, I would either run a 7.0v regulator to get the extra torque and speed out of the 5955 servos (they make over 400oz of torque on 7.0 volts). Plus you can then set the alarm on your Nomadio radio to warn you when the pack starts dumping. I set my Nomadio React to beep and vibrate when the transceiver voltage hits 6.5 volts. The LiPo packs fully charged are about 8.4v. They'll slowly drop down to 7.4 to 7.55 volts after a few minutes of run time and then they'll stay there 80% of the pack. Then they'll quickly start dumping. You don't want to discharge them below 6.0v so running a 6.0v regulator is senseless as you won't know when it dumps until it is too late (unless you use the Nomadio's telemetry to monitor the packs voltage by using the voltage sensor. This is basically a Rx battery lead hooked directly to the pack. You can use a Y-splitter before plugging the pack into your regulator and then plug the other end of the splitter into the BATT port on the Nomadio transceiver using a short servo extension lead).

On my buggy I use a 6.5v or 7.0v regulator and on my truggy I use the 7.0v regulator or direct. The only negative of using direct is you have to fully charge the LiPo, then run it for 5 minutes and then adjust your brake end points otherwise the brakes may not feel right once the pack goes from 8.4v to the 7.4v.

I don't know how many amps the Novak regulator is rated for but a Hitec 5955 servo in a truggy can pull some serious load when you stall the servo. I wouldn't use any regulator rated less than 5-amps.

Best regards,
__________________
Tony P.

Tonys Screws LLC
http://www.tonysscrews.com
High Grade Alloy Steel Screws, Screw Kits and Mugen Parts
TonysScrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 01:55 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

The losi regulator is 5 amp rated.
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 09:18 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Tony,

I did what you said and I plugged the battery directly to the transceiver and the glitching went away.

When you stated "using direct" do you mean not using a voltage regulator at all? Would it be OK not to use a regulator with my Hitec servos and Nomadio gear? If I do need a regulator can you recommend one.

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:26 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

Not sure about not using the regulator, but since it glitches with it, it must be defective.
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:31 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

.
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV

Last edited by ezveedub; 04-10-2008 at 10:32 AM. Reason: Double post
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 12:58 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Tony YGPM
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:27 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 543
Default

Since you are using a Nomadio radio just look at the display, it will tell you your receiver voltage.

Ed M.
bentgear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 07:40 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Anyone know where I can get a 7 volt lipo regulator? I did a google search and everything that came up was 5-6 volts with 5 amps or less.
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 07:51 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

http://www.htbatteries.com/Public_html/Rx%20Packs.htm
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:25 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Thanks Imaxx21. I thinks I going to get a couple of those.
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most cost effective way to switch to lipo? xlgraphicspro Nitro Off-Road 6 05-21-2008 06:40 AM
Making the switch.......? xrayroooahhhh Rookie Zone 4 05-16-2008 01:32 AM
12th Scale (and oval) and Lipo - Making it work soon. Mason Electric On-Road 46 02-27-2008 04:20 PM
Making the switch from stock to something quicker. tc3team Electric On-Road 8 02-06-2008 04:31 AM
switch to lipo? streetracer745 Electric On-Road 37 10-26-2006 01:17 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net