R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2008, 07:05 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bluffton SC by way of Jersey
Posts: 6
Default Losi 8 starter box

What do you guys think of the 8 box I'm not very impressed it doesnt have much power with those motors and I to put wire loom around the the wires for the batt I'm using a gel cell way to many sharp edges in the box.
Fire Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 08:46 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

the losi box is the Bomb...all u gotta do is rewire it with some Wet Noodle and Solder all the connections....I have yett to have the box Not Start anything i got....the motor's are more then enuff imo...also breakin in the motor's helps alot and keeping the brush's/comm in good condition.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 08:55 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
luisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 279
Default

Agreed... fires up my Go Tech .21 7 Port without issue and I use 2 stick batteries...
__________________
8ight TE 1.0 | MM2 2200kV | Spektrum
8ight TE 3.0 | MM2 2200kV | Savox | Spektrum
Ten-SCTE 2.0 | HW Pro SCT | Spektrum
luisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 08:57 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
captain america's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,425
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire Me View Post
What do you guys think of the 8 box I'm not very impressed it doesnt have much power with those motors and I to put wire loom around the the wires for the batt I'm using a gel cell way to many sharp edges in the box.
If you can't start an engine with a dual-motored starter box you're not using it right: I've been starting a massively tight Nova P5X on the Ofna plastic starter box that has about half the torque.
captain america is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 09:13 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Cannondale1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I may not be doing it right but I've been trying to break in a Novarossi P5X on a Losi starter box and it's been difficult. Engine is locked at the moment but I believe the problem might be I've not brought the engine up to a high enough temp.

I had it up to 150 degrees with a hairdryer and it did fire up. It cooled a bit then wouldn't start. I bought a heat gun to get it around 200 and hopefully I will be in good shape. (crossing fingers)
Cannondale1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 05:40 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
the losi box is the Bomb...all u gotta do is rewire it with some Wet Noodle and Solder all the connections....I have yett to have the box Not Start anything i got....the motor's are more then enuff imo...also breakin in the motor's helps alot and keeping the brush's/comm in good condition.
I was just wondering how you keep the brushes and comm in good shape on these motors? Please explain what you are doing to keep these in good condition?
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 06:30 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,110
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

I think losi updated the box I was told. I own a new losi box and it turns over my new rb s7 fine
__________________
K.C. Guy. Team Xray - rc america
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 06:30 AM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

A Can motor's is Just that....they are just like a Race motor ud throw in a Touring car and go racing on carpet with....so in reality can be cared for the same way.....When BRAND new the brush's arent seeted to the comm....so the wise idea is to take 15-20 min and work the motor's On and Off for couple minutes at a time with NO load/....and somewhere in between use some comm drops and even some bearing drops on the motor's shaft...that will help the bushing's Or Bearing out.....basically this will ensure your motors will last a while....Most Can motor's u cant pull the comm and everything out...but thats not soo important...as most guys arent gonna be goin and buying a Comm truer for the sole purpous of starter box motor's.....u should get at least a couple good seasons on a starter box.....then look into swappin out the motor's for fresh 1'z...and MAke sure to line up the chassy on the box Without the motor installed so then u can get a visual refference of where the box wheel is in relation to the flywheel....Sometimes its on either end to the extreme..and might not be 100% on the flywheel....check that and make sure its smack in the middle.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 11:24 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bluffton SC by way of Jersey
Posts: 6
Default

Maybe I go a bad box or something I don't know but other boxes I have used seem to be stronger.
Fire Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 11:34 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
luisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 279
Default

Is the battery freshly charged? I find that when I use 2 stick batteries I get more power than with my 12v cell. I also soldered all of the connections as some were very loose... I even replaced the stock wires with a thicker gauge.
__________________
8ight TE 1.0 | MM2 2200kV | Spektrum
8ight TE 3.0 | MM2 2200kV | Savox | Spektrum
Ten-SCTE 2.0 | HW Pro SCT | Spektrum
luisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 01:27 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bluffton SC by way of Jersey
Posts: 6
Default

Yes I picked up a new batt and peaked before I used it. I going to solder the connections like you said I did notice they were a little sloppy and not a very heavy gauge wire.Also the pig tails are to short to hook up.
Fire Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 08:09 PM   #12
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

Perfect starts everytime. Replaced all the plugs with Deans, lower guage wire and using two 2 cell 2100mah LiPo's.
FG101C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOSI 8B/8T STARTER BOX W/ LOSI 14.8V LIPO STARTER BOX PACK pink_sleeve R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-24-2008 06:12 PM
NEW! Losi Starter Box, Mamba Max ESC, Losi Mach 427 Engine, Pipe, Air filters, etc! JeffEmbracedDC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-12-2008 06:55 PM
Losi Lipo charger + Losi starter box + Torqmaster gel cell Revo-lution Radio and Electronics 1 05-11-2008 02:31 PM
Losi 8ight/Losi starter box/tons of spares FlyByWire R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 30 08-08-2007 03:04 PM
Losi XXX-NT Starter Box El Pedro Australia Wanted to Buy 3 05-24-2007 05:45 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net