R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 02-25-2008, 03:50 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default new to nitro....

hello people, fellow racers...my background is this. i raced back in the early 90's, all electric...traxxas Hawk, losi JRX-T, ect. then one day in 96' i sold it ALL. now i come here to ask this....i just bought a Losi 8ight T two days ago, can someone please inform me the best way to break in this motor being my first nitro? i can read the book it came with but is thit the best way, 1 tank at idle? 2 tanks at idle? then circles and easing in and out of full throttle? last thing, the dude at my LHS sold me odonnell 30% fuel? should i return it? i need 20% right?

thanks for reading and maybe you can help
mental_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 05:34 AM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to petevette

I find that the best way to break in an engine is to do 2 tanks at idle, but let the engine cool off between tanks. Make sure you engine is not at top dead center when you shut it down between tanks. The piston has to be at the bottom of the sleeve. After two tanks at idle, using a very rich setting, I put 4 more tanks using figure eights or circles and using 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% throttle on each tank as the engine starts to breakin. Again, let the engine cool down between each tank and check the piston to make sure it is at the bottom.

Use a head shim to reduce the compression a little during breakin. After your sixth tank total, always making sure to check temperature to be under 210 degrees, I run about half a gallon through it before I start to lean it out. After half a gallon, I then go to a race tune. 30% fuel should be fine for breakin. Make sure you engine is at bottom dead center each time the engines shuts down to make sure the piston doesn't stretch the sleeve up top and you lose compression.