Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
What is the Difference between LPR's tires and MTR? >

What is the Difference between LPR's tires and MTR?

What is the Difference between LPR's tires and MTR?

Old 02-23-2008, 04:51 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default What is the Difference between LPR's tires and MTR?

I am new to Nitro offroad, I am coming from electric On-road. I know the spec differences between the Mtr's and LPR. What i would like to know if there is a big handling gain with the LPR's? Is is worth it to buy a new set of tires just to gain the handling?

thanks to all for the input!!
Old 02-23-2008, 05:07 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

I was running CF MTR's on my truggies forever. When the LPR's came out I decided to try out a set. In my opinion (I am a club racer, not a pro) I didn't notice much of a difference in handling, which to me is a good thing. I liked the way the MTR's handled and I wanted the LPR's to handle the same, but with the advantages of the LPR's, which is less tire rollover and less un-sprung weight. The Regular MTR's do seem to have a little more cushioning, since they are thicker, but I am sticking with the LPR's.
Old 02-26-2008, 09:29 PM
Tech Regular

I have used the GRP tires in the past and now the lpr panther gators on my truggy. I on the other hand immediately felt a huge difference. I didnt change anyhing on my setup just changed the wheels. I felt that the truck had better traction as well as better steering reaction. Overall for me they were a huge improvement and a good investment. I gained about a second on my fastest laptime.
Old 02-27-2008, 12:13 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

thank you to the two of you for your input on this topic. I wish more people would give their two cents worth before i go out and buy some LPR wheels and tires.

thanks
Old 02-27-2008, 01:29 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)