R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2008, 03:18 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,180
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Running a LIPO in a starter box

Hello all,

I am getting ready for the new upcoming season and I need to upgrade my batteries in my starter box as they are 1500s and they totally suck. I have one of the Ofna stater boxes that use two 6 cell batteries. I am very interested in LIPO but have some confusion I have a new charger and a balancer that will charge a LIPO but then I started looking into batteries for this set-up. I have a connector on the balancer that will accept 4pin or 6pin. I was looking at the HT500 but they have a 5pin connector What's the deal can I still connect it to the 6pin and if I am not able to do that where can I get 5pin to 6pin adapters or is there another way to do this. Sorry if this sounds stupid but I just don't get it!
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 05:49 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
GenReaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 895
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GenReaper
Default

Run a 12 volt Gel Cel for a fraction of the price.
Tis what i use and i get heaps of starter time and can even charge my cars off it all weekend.
__________________
---------------------------------
Trex 700E 12S Scorpion 4035 560kv
Trex 600E
HPI Baja 5B SS
My videos : http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=genreaper
GenReaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 05:53 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I'd also get the 12v gel cell. I pay $13 and change for mine. I'm sure that for the price of those lipos, I can supply myself with the 12v for pretty much the rest of my life.
MikeInCtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 06:10 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
Hello all,

I am getting ready for the new upcoming season and I need to upgrade my batteries in my starter box as they are 1500s and they totally suck. I have one of the Ofna stater boxes that use two 6 cell batteries. I am very interested in LIPO but have some confusion I have a new charger and a balancer that will charge a LIPO but then I started looking into batteries for this set-up. I have a connector on the balancer that will accept 4pin or 6pin. I was looking at the HT500 but they have a 5pin connector What's the deal can I still connect it to the 6pin and if I am not able to do that where can I get 5pin to 6pin adapters or is there another way to do this. Sorry if this sounds stupid but I just don't get it!
First, if the starter box if the chrome top then you can't use Lipo with it. If you are looking at the HT500, why not get starter box battery from HT also? Thats what I use in all my starter boxes, works great so far.
cota348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 06:14 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
dgraham225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to dgraham225
Default

why cant you use a lipo with a chrome top? im glad you said something because i was close to getting one!!!
__________________
Danny Graham
dgraham225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 07:39 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgraham225 View Post
why cant you use a lipo with a chrome top? im glad you said something because i was close to getting one!!!
I believe the chrome top has two big motors in there that required more juice than the available from Lipo.

I can't remember to read either the Ofna or the battery spec, but one of them will tell you so.
cota348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 07:41 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise Id
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use two 4800 lipos in my Losi box and it works great.lee
nascarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 07:42 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgraham225 View Post
why cant you use a lipo with a chrome top? im glad you said something because i was close to getting one!!!
I believe the chrome top has two big motors in there that required more juice than the available from Lipo.

I can't remember to read either the Ofna or the battery spec, but one of them will tell you so.
cota348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 07:42 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgraham225 View Post
why cant you use a lipo with a chrome top? im glad you said something because i was close to getting one!!!
I believe the chrome top has two big motors in there that required more juice than the available from Lipo.

I can't remember to read either the Ofna or the battery spec, but one of them will tell you so.
cota348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 08:05 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
dgraham225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to dgraham225
Default

i think maybe the smaller chrome top does, but the blue "universal" one has one large motor, i have a gell cell in mine but that bitch is heavy!!!
__________________
Danny Graham
dgraham225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:04 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgraham225 View Post
i think maybe the smaller chrome top does, but the blue "universal" one has one large motor, i have a gell cell in mine but that bitch is heavy!!!
I believe you are right in the OFNA blue/chrome top there is one big heavy motor, but still it is not recommended to use Lipo.

I have a Losi, new blue ofna and a Associated starter boxes all with Lipo, a lot lighter and working quite well.
cota348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:38 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,180
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ok first I have an Ofna lightweight starter box which currently uses two 6-cell stick packs.A 12v will not fit and if it did it would be way to tight. Does anybody here know about LIPO and the connections. Oh cota an HT500 is the stater box battery from HT but it has 5-pin connecters and my flightpower balancer has either a 4-pin or 6-pin. That is what I am really trying to figure out ! I have considered two larger stick packs but I have heard that LIPO will last all day and also will have more power which is what I am looking to acheive.
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:53 AM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
zigzag84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: France
Posts: 49
Default

My new Losi 8T body from France






__________________
Caster K8T Pro
RB C6 BBT7
KMW Product BB Shocks
Mugen option parts
Proline LPR + Bowtie
Body Symbio T2

http://truggy-france.com/autres-truggy-f13/truggy-caster-k8t-maj-10_04_08-caro-symbio-t2-t3063.htm
zigzag84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:53 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Default

I use a lipo in the losi box, works great...... I also have the OFN 10244 truggy box (with twin 775's) on the way and look forward to trying the lipo in there also.

I am relatively new to lipo but from what i understand the lipo plugs have one more pin than they do cells. A starter box lipo (4s) has 5 pins, the 5th pin being for balancing purposes.

I'm no expert this is only from what i've read.
__________________
Losi 8T
Spektrum
O.S Speed HN EFRA2047
nu2losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:50 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
TKCastle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 118
Default

Psst..cavemen. If your not running Lipo in your SB dont talk to me
__________________
Thats right!
TKCastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Lipo with no cutoff??? RCRat Electric Off-Road 34 08-27-2008 12:30 PM
Running a LIPO in a starter box motomanpat Electric Off-Road 3 02-23-2008 11:18 AM
ESC for 540 Lipo Running grassrootsracer Australia Wanted to Buy 3 01-25-2008 01:47 AM
Velineon running HOT 200(F)+ on 3s 5 amp lipo R1R 7humbs Electric Off-Road 16 09-24-2007 07:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net