R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2008, 05:39 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default Ofna JL picco Red dot .12 motor

I just picked up one of these motors and i got a rb c6 turbo plug and it leaks gas around the plug.....what turbo plug is good and won't leak on this engine??? it has an effect on the compression as well.
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:08 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Colt4g63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Picco or Dynamite plugs both work great. I use the dynamite plugs in my JLR as there easy for me to get here locally.
__________________
Adam Blevins Owner/Operator of AB Mods X-Dyno equipped and World Record holding engines!
www.ABMods.com
Colt4g63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:26 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
PowerHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

I have always used the RB plugs and never had any problems with them. Did you aquire that engine used? Are the threads in the insert cross threaded causing the plug not to seat properly? It is very easy to cross thread the turbo plug inserts if not careful. If thread and seat are good, is the motor detonating causing the plug to loosen up? Too much compression and/or bad fuel are the two most common causes of preignition. Make sure the motor has the proper shimming in the head and make sure your fuel is fresh and the motor is tuned properly and you should be in good shape. If it ends up being a bad sealing plug from RB, I would be very surprised because they are such a good quality plug but nothings perfect so good luck with your investigation.

Mark @ www.PowerHouseRCPerformance.com
PowerHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:41 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

i did get the motor used, i took the old plug out and put the new rb one in and it threaded in fine, it didn't feel like i crossed threaded it. The motor is still very tight, so when i roll it over i can hear air coming from around the plug.
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:48 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

also, i took the head off and it has three shims so i would assume it would be enought for 20% byrons....
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:52 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
PowerHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

next thing I would do is take the insert out and inspect the seating surface to make sure the previous owner didn't damage it trying to clean out the dirt and grime with a screwdriver or something similar. Also check to see if the plug looks seated properly because sometimes its hard to tell if the plug is in crooked looking at it from above. Look at the threads closely to see if there are signs of crossthreading and if it looks good, definately try another plug. Also to be sure, check around the base of the headgasket to make sure thats not contributing to the problem. If nothing else, replace the button.
PowerHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:55 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
PowerHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

oh yeah 3 shims are more than enough provided they are not 3 .001" shims. Most engines have roughly .012-.018" worth of shims
PowerHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:58 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

thanks for your help, i am going to tak the button off tomorrow and check it out.
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 07:25 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

ok buttom seems fine to me but i took a picture of both plugs and i think this is my problem, cause with the plug that came with the engine it has tight compression and no leaks, this rb lets the compression out through the plug when i roll it over.
Attached Thumbnails
Ofna JL picco Red dot .12 motor-picture-019.jpg  
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 12:48 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
PowerHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

good investigative work, time to race!!
PowerHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 07:18 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Colt4g63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Get a Picco or a Dynamite turbo plug.. I have done extensive testing with these engines. I dont put out 1.2+HP and 38+Oz/In TQ JLRs for no reason. Piccos have a different taper... usually the places that sell these engines will advise you to run a Picco plug and only a picco plug... or a plug with the same taper. And I am telling you from personal experience the dynamite plugs seal and work great. Its what I run in my JLRs. Good luck with ur engine. Once u get the right plug and pipe on it you will be amazed with its performance. Great and very powerfull mills!!!
__________________
Adam Blevins Owner/Operator of AB Mods X-Dyno equipped and World Record holding engines!
www.ABMods.com
Colt4g63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 04:29 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

what about a o.s. p3 turbo plug???
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 05:38 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

I use either an Os P3 or a Picco plug. THe os plugs work fine.
__________________
_____________________
Sponsored by:
Fusion Motorsports
Bad Dog Rc
www.baddogrc.com
www.speedtechrc.com
My rides

Jammin CRT.5 w/ OS .12 TZP 5
Team Losi 8ight-T w/ Ninja JX .21
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 04:01 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Jemmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Is this engine just as fast as a Mega ZX-12 DSII??
__________________
-Jemmie720| www.youtube.com/Jemmie720 -Tornado Fuels| www.tornado-products.com
-Blitz Bodies| http://www.team-titan.com.tw
Jemmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 09:30 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 176
Default

the picco red dot .12 takes its own type plug.
ktmusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ofna/Picco .26 motor with extras sweetride4me R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 07-18-2008 08:36 AM
Ofna Picco JLR Red Dot Wayne1one Nitro On-Road 18 02-26-2007 09:56 AM
Is the OFNA Picco .27 and the Werks Picco .27 Identical? Chase Electric Off-Road 1 01-06-2006 12:09 AM
Ofna/Picco .21 O-1 motor Zapped R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-19-2004 05:42 AM
Ofna LD3 W/ PICCO Motor For Sale RCNUT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-27-2003 06:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net