Wiki Posts
Search

Nitro Newbie Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 02:49 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Nitro Newbie Questions

I am fairly new to the hobby and currently only have electric. I own an E-Maxx 3905 which I love and have become very familiar with wrenching on. I am very interested in racing and 1/8 scale Nitro seems very appealing but I had a couple questions I wanted all your wise opinions on, please.

Are they 1/8 scale engines louder than the 1/10. I understand it depends on the size, I guess within ROAR limits? I don't want to purchase something I can't run in the park or the neighborhood because it sounds like a flying weed eater.

Honestly, how hard is it to tune these things and maintain them? I have little small engine experience, but am pretty handy with things. I just don't necessarily want to spend 10 hours a week maintaining and tuning an engine just to race casually. Then again, it may end up an addiction like everything else in this hobby!

I know these seem like remedial questions, but I can't seem to find definitive answers or opinions. It just seems like sifting through references in posts.

Thanks for your help and patience with a noob looking to go rocket powered.
Old 02-14-2008, 03:08 PM
Tech Regular

All nitro engines are noisy, that is what you get with combustion engines.
Smaller engines like .12's and .15's aren't as loud as larger engines like .21's and .28's. But as long as you find a place that isn't really close to the public then you shouldn't have any noise complaints.

Tuning can be a bit mind boggling when you are new to nitro but you will get the hang of it. Some engines are more user friendly than others. Keep it simple for starters....like an RTR to start off with. It gets you started then you can upgrade when you need to.

Maintenance doesn't have to take hours a week, but some of us like to maintain and keep our race cars in prime condition, so time isn't a factor.