R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2008, 11:22 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thumbs up My First Day

...

Last edited by allyv; 01-24-2009 at 03:16 AM.
allyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 02:26 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

cool! welcome to the addiction i mean hobby
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 11:05 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
xsxracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,651
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to xsxracing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allyv View Post
Hey,
today was my first experience of a nitro truck,
I have never driven any other nitro viechle ever,
So i came home from school, filled the tank up,
glow plug ignitor in EZ start in and....... Nothing,
So as i am a beginner i didn't know what to do,
but i had some idea,
I checked the glow plug,
I made sure the fuel was getting to the engine,
Made sure engine wasn't flooded,
But then i tried heating it with hair dryer as i had read this somewhere(btw my truck was second from Ebay) so after i heated it up abit it started quickly.
So after trying it out on my drive and realising it was too fast for my small drive,
we took it to the local football pitch,
then we had a few turns each, I was so impressed by it (even though it is not tuned properly) it was so fast. but the acceleration was abit slow.
So i was having my last go when it slowed down abit for some reason so i revved it then a massive flame came out of the side of it, so we ran over to it and the exhaust had come off,
So we went home and sucured it better.

Great First Day,
Nitro is Amzing.

AllyV
Well glad ya had fun,You did break-in process right?You wanna ask your lhs or look online on someways to tune.
You need to learn how to tune,Took me a while to learn how but now i got it down really good.
__________________
MrDave3D
xsxracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 03:27 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Dave_x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: adelaide, para hills west
Posts: 898
Send a message via MSN to Dave_x8
Default

it sounds to me like he got it out of the box and held it flat, could explain the slow acceleration, bumma about the big flame out, i sure hope he broke it in..
__________________
GO-TECH 21 5-port DOMINATOR
hyper 10 ON-ROAD toyota supra
Dave_x8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 05:12 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
lowey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 356
Default

From what i read, he got it second hand off ebay. So you would assume it was run-in already? Sounds to me AllyV that you have a bit of a tuning issue..... here's a little bit of info i found on another site...

"There are hundreds of posts like this one all over the net. One of the most important things in the posts that follow is most always left out. This would be the Air gap/idle setting on the carb slide. You canít tune an engine if this is not set right. In order to tune an engine properly this gap should be set to somewhere between 1.0mm to 1.5mm no more or less than that to start. There is a specific ratio to fuel & air mixture that these engines are designed to run at. Once the engine is tuned properly you can fine tune the idle some. Most of the time when this gap is set too small you will be running too lean on the bottom. This is because to get a nice idle with it that small you will have to lean it out or your idle will be to low. Also most of the time when this gap is set too big you will be fat on the bottom. This is because to get a nice idle you will have to richen it up or your idle will be too high. I keep a 1.5mm drill bit in my pit box to set this gap. Once this gap is set correctly fire the engine up and get it running good enough to put it on the track. Then run some hot laps to get some temp in it and bring it in and richen the top end to the point where it is not clearing out on the straights, this way you know it is fat for sure. Once you have done this start leaning the top end out to where it is just clearing out on the straights. After this bring it in to get the low end set close. When you do this pay attention to how the car comes in after being wide open on the straight. If the car went out on the track when you first put it down with a decent idle but is coming back in with a high idle for a while (8+ sec) and then settles back down then chances are you are too fat on the bottom. If this is so then lean the bottom out an hour until when it comes back in it stays high. Once you have done this you can set the idle/air gap to get the idle you are after, it wonít be much. (Once I have found this I will usually fatten the low end about an hour or so just to make sure) If when you are out running you hot laps you start to bog coming out of the corners and donít see a good smoke trail chances are you are too lean on the bottom. Fatten the bottom until it is not lean bogging coming out of the corners, has a nice smoke trail and you have the power you are after on the low end. If this is the case and the idle is now too low bring the idle up using the air gap/idle screw, again it wonít be much. Once you get the low end set go back and re-tune the top end for performance with a good smoke trail."
Setting your nitro engine up that way is almost fool proof once you get it down. The other thing that is cool is this! Letís say I have found the perfect tune on race day and then go out next week to race and the tune is a little off. What this tells me is my surroundings have changed i.e. temp, humidity and such. Letís say after running my engine for a little bit I notice that the idle is a little high. What this tells me is the engine is now running a little lean due to changes in atmospheric conditions i.e. air temp & humidity. Most people at this point would simply turn the idle screw a bit to bring the idle down some. Buy doing this yes the idle will come down but chances are you are still running lean! The better thing to do would be to fatten up the low end some to bring the idle down. This will maintain the correct air gap on the carb slide and air/fuel mixture and you won't be running lean for the day. If you noticed that your engine is idling a little low at the start of a new day then the opposite would be true i.e. you would be a little fat on the bottom. If this is the case then lean out the bottom a little until the idle comes back to where you want and fine tune from there. Also now that you know that you were either a little lean or fat on the bottom chances are you are a little lean or fat on the top end for that day. So take a look at the top end after setting the bottom. If I have a day like this I will set the top again to where I know its rich i.e. not cleaning out on the straights and re-tune from there.

Hope this helps!
lowey79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 11:05 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default

...

Last edited by allyv; 01-24-2009 at 03:17 AM.
allyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 09:20 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Dave_x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: adelaide, para hills west
Posts: 898
Send a message via MSN to Dave_x8
Default

you shouldn't have any problems getting a replacement part, even if you got it off ebay, what sort or car is it?
__________________
GO-TECH 21 5-port DOMINATOR
hyper 10 ON-ROAD toyota supra
Dave_x8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 03:25 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Mugen MBX-5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allyv View Post
Thanks for the help,
the idle needle needs adjusting i think (from what i have read above) but the screw on the carburetter seems worn down and i can not turn it.
By the way the engine was fully run in before i got and i took it easy to begin with just in case anyway.

Also i have a BIG problem with the gear shifting servo, it will puush the bar into thetransmission box but will pull it out far enough (so i have to use my finger to push it) there fore can not go into reverse without having to push the bar with my finger, any tips ???
Or somewhere i can get a replacement ?


Thanks,
AllyV

wtf? it has reverse?
Mugen MBX-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 07:22 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Turbine_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SA
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen MBX-5 View Post
wtf? it has reverse?
__________________
It's mine: http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=usYhSWbmx6s
Turbine_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 12:12 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Mugen MBX-5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbine_au View Post
Mugen MBX-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 12:29 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Turbine_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SA
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Before this gets out of hand and offtopic... Many cars come with reverse. Revo, LST2 etc. etc.
__________________
It's mine: http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=usYhSWbmx6s
Turbine_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 05:57 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Dave_x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: adelaide, para hills west
Posts: 898
Send a message via MSN to Dave_x8
Default

in my opinion, reverse is a waste of time, even when bashing, i have a LST1 with reverse, and it hardly gets used, only when im stuck against something it IS handy to have. if i had the money to burn i would chuck my 2-speed with reverse, and get a forward-only setup with single speed, just my 2cents
__________________
GO-TECH 21 5-port DOMINATOR
hyper 10 ON-ROAD toyota supra
Dave_x8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 01:51 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Mugen MBX-5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_x8 View Post
in my opinion, reverse is a waste of time, even when bashing, i have a LST1 with reverse, and it hardly gets used, only when im stuck against something it IS handy to have. if i had the money to burn i would chuck my 2-speed with reverse, and get a forward-only setup with single speed, just my 2cents
i agree, how does it even work anyways? like a brake? you push forward on the remote and it brakes/reverses or what? i dont see how the direction of the flywheel is able to change to make it go reverse... and yeah, i think reverse would be kinda useless too.
Mugen MBX-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 02:18 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
dieseldog20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: RAF Mildenhall, United States Air Force
Posts: 572
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dieseldog20 Send a message via Yahoo to dieseldog20
Default

the servo slides a fork back and forth for the forward and reverse. when flipped into reverse the fork moves and changes the rotation of the gears in the tranny therefore giving you reverse. the motor doesnt spin reverse its just a bunch of gears. reverse is pointless in any rc car my opinion.
dieseldog20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 07:54 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Mugen MBX-5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieseldog20 View Post
the servo slides a fork back and forth for the forward and reverse. when flipped into reverse the fork moves and changes the rotation of the gears in the tranny therefore giving you reverse. the motor doesnt spin reverse its just a bunch of gears. reverse is pointless in any rc car my opinion.
hmm, id like to see one in action for myself.


how do you activate the reverse?
Mugen MBX-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:44 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net