R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2008, 05:08 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default legal fuel tanks?

According to RC Pro Series rules (and ROAR as well I believe) fuel capacity for nitro buggies is 125 cc, including the lines and filter(s)...but every tank I see for nitro buggies has a 125 cc capacity for JUST the tank. What gives?

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 05:20 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Vigilante212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Menasha WI
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

If they actually measure your fuel lemme know . They just say that to keep things fair.
__________________
Mod 13.5 Associated B5M Lite
Stock 17.5 Associated B5M
Vigilante212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 05:27 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 569
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

actually, at bigger races they do measure your fuel tank capacity. i know a guy that got DQ'ed because his tank was barely over capacity because it had heated up and expanded
nik77356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 05:29 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

125cc is the legal limit as for the tank but you CANT have more than one fuel filter
__________________
go really fast and turn left....
Robert.Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 05:36 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

copied and pasted from RC Pro website:

Fuel - Maximum 125 mililitres/cc includes tank, filter(s) and fuel line from tank to carb
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 05:36 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

double post
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 05:51 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
CJMay13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nineveh, IN
Posts: 98
Send a message via Yahoo to CJMay13
Default

Had my tank measured at both of the RC Pro Midwest rounds that I raced at last year (Dirt Country and St. Louis Dirtburners). I also run dual filters and I think I was just under 125cc's. I know the Kentucky State series measured everyone that was top 3 in the A Mains in each class.
CJMay13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 07:39 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatspunout View Post
copied and pasted from RC Pro website:

Fuel - Maximum 125 mililitres/cc includes tank, filter(s) and fuel line from tank to carb
thats odd cause you would thing its the same as roar cause most tanks are just under 125cc like 120 so a filter and 6-10 inces of lines is close to about 130-135
__________________
go really fast and turn left....
Robert.Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 08:11 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,145
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert.Hull View Post
thats odd cause you would thing its the same as roar cause most tanks are just under 125cc like 120 so a filter and 6-10 inces of lines is close to about 130-135
It is the same as Roar. Roar rules specify fuel system capacity, not fuel tank capacity. The rules say in order to check the capacity you have to fill the fuel lines and filters as they are part of the capacity of the fuel system.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 08:52 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

scott your right i just realized i got confused and wrote the rong thing they do check the whole system i remember now
__________________
go really fast and turn left....
Robert.Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:47 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

So a "125 cc" fuel tank is not technically 125 cc...I've always run my fuel lines as short as possible with a single gutted filter for slow marshal insurance, but I'm going to have to check and see how much capacity I really have...I may have been cheating myself out of precious cc's!

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 04:09 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
TMizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 644
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

lol @ "precious cc's!"
__________________
Chassis:
Team Magic B8rs - USA Team

Sponsors:
GO TECH ENGINES (Factory Team) | VP Pro (Factory Team) | EB MODS (Factory Team) | RICHES BREW FUEL | COMPETITION PRODUCTS
TMizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 03:54 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
BigRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know how much fuel tubing needed to make 125cc's? I'm running the one kyosho fuel filter and a 120cc tank. I should have measured it before I threw the tubbing out. We actually had some random tests for fuel capacity one year.
__________________
Lake Superior R/C Car Club
lsrcc.com
BigRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 07:24 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

bigred-- if your tank measures 120 with the K filter your probally right there just run line from the tank to the filter to the nipple dont over do it by wraping it around things and you should be good to go
__________________
go really fast and turn left....
Robert.Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 07:47 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
benchemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 217
Default

The easiest way to test your capacity is to get a graduated cylider, fill your tank and lines, then blow all of the fuel out of the tank and lines by blowing through your pressure line. 125cc is 125mL on a graduated cylinder. Another method if you don't have access to a graduated cylinder, but you have a scale that can read in grams. Fill the tank and lines with water, then blow them into a container that is zeroed on the scale. The weight should be 125g as water weighs 1g per mL or cc.
benchemist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
larger fuel tanks sk8boarder Nitro Off-Road 0 11-16-2007 07:51 PM
TS Modified Top .21 motor. Used.under 10 tanks of fuel through this motor like new vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-02-2007 07:15 PM
LST-2, less than 2 tanks of fuel...fs K.Copeland R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-06-2006 08:21 AM
Why not larger fuel tanks? rdbruski Electric Off-Road 5 07-29-2006 06:34 PM
2 Trinity Spyder Fuel Tanks Hugh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-20-2006 02:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net