R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2007, 09:26 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default rc8--set up help

I need some help and it is very hard to get answers from team associated. I have just changed to rc8..We are racing indoor up in michigan, blue groove very tech-track--My set up was sliver springs on shocks 6-1/2 mm space with rear and 5-1/2 mm front shock collar adjustment gap..switch clay tires. os v spec power..While doing hot laps car was a tadd loose..but track was a little wet..I hit first triple and nailed it comming around to second triple i landed a tadd short but not a hit that would take car out of action..Car was acting funny so i brought it in and to my amaze both back shocks were blown, clip retainers and collars were in shock boots, but i also cracked the back of my front gear box off where the hinge pins locate in back plate..I have every extra part there is but not gear boxes..All my other race bros who run rc8 and are supported by rc8 could not belive it,,They have never seen that gear box break..these are a main fast guys and all are in top standings with roar. Well I was a pit boy for the rest of the day and it sucked. I was running 30. weight shock oil..The avg temp is 50 degrees inside so we comp for that..Any info would help folks..I can win with rc8 but i need to race it first..capri
ulrichcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 09:28 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 66 (99%+)
Default

check the rc8 thread dude.........lol
pwnzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 09:52 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
nobike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,029
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

Team Associated 1/8 scale Buggy Info and Tips
nobike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 09:22 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

thread is no help.
ulrichcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 09:25 PM   #5
K_B
Tech Master
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Sounds to me like you just had a bad day at the track. I've blown shocks before. It doesn't necessarily mean you did anything wrong in building 'em, just one of those things that happens. If it happens on a regular basis, then maybe there's something wrong.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:42 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,481
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_B View Post
Sounds to me like you just had a bad day at the track. I've blown shocks before. It doesn't necessarily mean you did anything wrong in building 'em, just one of those things that happens. If it happens on a regular basis, then maybe there's something wrong.
In case of ulrichcapri's case, both rear shocks were completely blown out within just a few laps during practice through... The clips and o-rings were completely blown out of the bottom of the shock. I didn't see his landing where he busted his front bulkhead and maybe the crash was so hard that it blew through the shocks, but I have never seen it happen to both rear shocks at the same time.... I have had it happen to a shock or two before, but that was because there was too much pressure build up in the shock because the shock bladder couldn't flex out enough....

Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Edwin Hartman
Tekno RC Regional Team Manager - Southern Midwest region
Sponsors: Tekno RC - Pro-Line Racing - Tekin - LutzRC - O'Donnell Racing Fuel - TrakPower - Advantage Racing Products - Futaba - Sumo Racing
ehartman_49348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:53 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Shane Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marysville, Oh
Posts: 1,103
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The shocks must have had to much oil in them. Make sure you build them as the manual says. If you can not push the shaft all the way in or it gets very hard to push in than there is to much oil and they will blow when you land a jump.
__________________
KYOSHO AMERICA-Novarossi-M2C racing-Competition Heat-Grandview Hobbies-Fastraxx Hobbies-TKO-Clockwork-The Ohio RC Factory
Shane Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 08:08 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

per a/e fill the shock body to the top and put bladder in and push out extra oil if any..You do not want any air in your shock...I would say my set up was to soft and the shock's could not take landing...Edwin did you see that kid jump 310 ft last night...Hoooooooa !!!!
ulrichcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:46 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,296
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

You race at Factory Tracks Raceway right? I blew my lower top plate a couple weeks ago. Guess I better get a spare gear box too. I wasn't there last weekend but my buddies told me about your car. That sucks you didn't get to run. If I ditch the cold I caught we'll probably be there this weekend. So fix that losi-killer and see ya at the track!!
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 06:28 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
SkarTisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SkarTisu Send a message via Yahoo to SkarTisu
Default

I agree that it sounds like the shocks were overfilled. Rough day at the track! One modification you can try is to drill a 1.0mm hole in each shock cap to allow the air above the bladder to escape. It will reduce the pack of the shock and should help prevent blown shock seals. If you try the mod you MUST deburr the inside of the hole after drilling it so you won't cut the bladders.
__________________
Marshall Skare
Team Associated - Reedy Powered - JConcepts - LiveRC.com
SkarTisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 06:29 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default

+1
kmorast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:35 PM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for the help and yes i will drill 1mm holes..I work for the best press stampers in the world grs-s spring and stamping and i have full support from the tool room folks they will hook me up..their all gear heads and yes I race at FTR--Al horne has been showing me some set up tips..He drove my rc8 at practice two weeks ago (wow) its to bad he is a losi man but he has my respect !!!..my buddy just called me and said he has just bought a rc8 and will be ready for this sunday..It will be very intresting..Edwin its about time. If i keep my head screwed on and dont piss my self and should be a good sunday..I will be happy to finish good in the B main..They have changed back section of track...they were doing 17 second laps in a main.thats some good times..any hoot thanks a ton..my old ride that i was running was a good ride but it was to much pain to set up..Its not a proven ride and i dont have the time to prove it..It shouldnt be that hard..this is a fun hobby and a blast to hang with the racer's, It seem's that last weekend two guys forgot that and started pushing and throwing punches..it's not worth getting all postal..the coolest thing was at the trophy race I made friends with a 64 yer old racer who let me borrow some switches..how cool and he was fast..thats the way it should be..I work more on this hot rod toy of mine and I have a 500hp brk car in my pole barn just beggin me to let her breath..life is good methane rocks o.s power and rc8 doesnt get better...capri
ulrichcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:39 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
SkarTisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SkarTisu Send a message via Yahoo to SkarTisu
Default

Did Al Horne open a new track now? I heard somewhere else that he was working on one.
__________________
Marshall Skare
Team Associated - Reedy Powered - JConcepts - LiveRC.com
SkarTisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 03:08 PM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

highland michigan,,The only one so far as I know..Good track,,keeps you going through our tough winter's Heard of another indoor in michigan that is going to open..My race bros and I will go anywhere to race..We are from west mi..more racing in the east side of state..are home track is a good one but we are going to change it to clay..Its sand right now but its hard on your buggy...FTR is going to ck it out as they say build it right and they will come !!!!ok ok enough spamming, wife is getting ticked..I will rebuild my shocks now and tick her off more. HoooooooA !!!
ulrichcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 01:11 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
crawlingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: sedro woolley wa.
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulrichcapri View Post
I need some help and it is very hard to get answers from team associated. I have just changed to rc8..We are racing indoor up in michigan, blue groove very tech-track--My set up was sliver springs on shocks 6-1/2 mm space with rear and 5-1/2 mm front shock collar adjustment gap..switch clay tires. os v spec power..While doing hot laps car was a tadd loose..but track was a little wet..I hit first triple and nailed it comming around to second triple i landed a tadd short but not a hit that would take car out of action..Car was acting funny so i brought it in and to my amaze both back shocks were blown, clip retainers and collars were in shock boots, but i also cracked the back of my front gear box off where the hinge pins locate in back plate..I have every extra part there is but not gear boxes..All my other race bros who run rc8 and are supported by rc8 could not belive it,,They have never seen that gear box break..these are a main fast guys and all are in top standings with roar. Well I was a pit boy for the rest of the day and it sucked. I was running 30. weight shock oil..The avg temp is 50 degrees inside so we comp for that..Any info would help folks..I can win with rc8 but i need to race it first..capri
I just went to an rc8 and had the same prob. indoors really loose on power i sent an email to Chris B who drives for associated he had me go 5000 in all three diffs and 1 .09 spring on the clutch and i went to a lighter sway bars in the front and rear. That made the car tons better i could say that i am real happy now. Thats running switch 2.0 and a p5k on a blue groove indoor track try that setup should work great
__________________
performance r/c hobbies, burlington Wa. (360)755-9464
crawlingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net