R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2007, 09:39 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia,Wollongong
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to DirtRacer
Default RB S7 tuneing Help

Just gota second hand RB S7 and have managed to tune it to the point where the bottom end is fine and the engine is running well at idle but i cant seem to rev the engine to full throtle without it choking, eg weeeee blu blu we...., from what i know the top end wasnt tuned very well by the previous owner, ive tried adjusting the air mix needle and also the air and fuel mix.

any RB owners or past owners help would most appreciated.

Merry Christmas&Happy New Year.
__________________
RollingDist46
extreme sports and more....
www.myspace.com/m1urathanedist46
www.myspace.com/renegadebearingsdist46
DirtRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

Always tune the top end first, then dial in the low end and idle. The reason behind this is that the High Speed needle also affects the low speed and idle. Once changes to the low speed needle are close, changes to the idle screw will become apparent at once while adjusting.

As far as the previous owner "not" tuning the high speed needle correctly, changes in altitude, humidity, and temperature will all affect the tune. If you didn't buy it from someone at your track, its almost a given that the tune will be off.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:52 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia,Wollongong
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to DirtRacer
Default

Alright sweet thanks for the info, yea your absolutly right about the previous owner, he lives in another state called WA about 1200kms away south, alright well ill try my luck on tuneing the top end now and get back to you shortly.
__________________
RollingDist46
extreme sports and more....
www.myspace.com/m1urathanedist46
www.myspace.com/renegadebearingsdist46
DirtRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 12:10 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia,Wollongong
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to DirtRacer
Default

well its sounding much better now thanks alot, just needs a good track tune and she ll be alright
__________________
RollingDist46
extreme sports and more....
www.myspace.com/m1urathanedist46
www.myspace.com/renegadebearingsdist46
DirtRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net