R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2007, 01:13 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to pinky2252s Send a message via MSN to pinky2252s
Default guess wat i did today

allright so im at my uncles house, and he lives in cayon city. so i brought my S-maxx thinking it would run because he owns 12 acres so i really wanted to run it. it wouldnt start! then i checked the glow plug it was fine but the ignighter was dead or something so my BRILLIANT uncle decided to hook and alligator clip and a battery eliminator! 3 volts IT LIT UP LIKE THE SUN! bright white. it started! i ran it for a long time. so you should all ways bring a volt meter to the races! just incase!
__________________
Procrastinators Unite!.....Tomorrow
Team Terribles

Last edited by pinky2252s; 11-22-2007 at 03:24 PM.
pinky2252s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 02:01 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

volt meter? why would that help?
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 02:31 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Your post makes no sense. Your glo-ignighter was dead and when you hooked a voltmeter up to it, it suddenly worked? What?

-Frank
__________________
http://williams-luge.com
FrankW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 03:22 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to pinky2252s Send a message via MSN to pinky2252s
Default

hows that?
__________________
Procrastinators Unite!.....Tomorrow
Team Terribles
pinky2252s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 04:47 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
shady3031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

it sounds as though his uncle used another vehicle, which was electric. It had an esc with a BEC (battery elemination circuit). This allows you to run your servos and other electronics off of the input battery and steps down the voltage to 5 or 6 volts and 3 amps. He then alligator clipped the glow ignitor wire to the bec output on the esc.

You can actually take a radio with a 3rd channel and wire it up through an esc to use an an onboard glow ignitor. Thhis means when you flip the switch to activate the 3rd switch it will automatically start the truck. One of the magazines did this to a jato some time last year--looked pretty cool for bashing purposes.
__________________
The Warehouse RC-Birmingham, AL
AE RC8.2-E Tekin powered
Alabama Manufacturers Shootout-Don't Miss It
shady3031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 07:16 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to pinky2252s Send a message via MSN to pinky2252s
Default

nope, he used a thing that you could controll the amps and just have raw power and it worked
__________________
Procrastinators Unite!.....Tomorrow
Team Terribles
pinky2252s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 09:58 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky2252s View Post
nope, he used a thing that you could controll the amps and just have raw power and it worked
Raw power from what?
__________________
http://williams-luge.com
FrankW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 10:05 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to pinky2252s Send a message via MSN to pinky2252s
Default

an outlet, you pluged it in and basicly you just had raw power from it



lol F.U.N! funny sponge
__________________
Procrastinators Unite!.....Tomorrow
Team Terribles
pinky2252s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 11:34 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

That doesn't sound very smart. Unless you or your uncle is an electrician, I wouldn't recommend messing around with your house's electrical system.

-Frank
__________________
http://williams-luge.com
FrankW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 04:23 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sounds like he used an adjustable lab power supply!
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:24 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to pinky2252s Send a message via MSN to pinky2252s
Default

it wasnt like it was going to explode, its what you used when you needed to charge your car battery. thats why it had an ajustable amp power. i only went up to 3 amps
__________________
Procrastinators Unite!.....Tomorrow
Team Terribles

Last edited by pinky2252s; 11-24-2007 at 01:48 PM.
pinky2252s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 09:43 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mt vernon il
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rhymster
Default

why not take this thread to dumbest thread topics ever???
rhymster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:45 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
rltanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City,AZ
Posts: 2,681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhymster View Post
why not take this thread to dumbest thread topics ever???
OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Mugen MBX6
Mugen MBX6 Truggy
rltanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:47 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mt vernon il
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rhymster
Default

do you not agree?
rhymster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:49 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
rltanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City,AZ
Posts: 2,681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhymster View Post
do you not agree?
Yes its a weird thing to start a thread for, but ,but ,but ok your right it is retarded
__________________
Mugen MBX6
Mugen MBX6 Truggy
rltanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hudy 1/8'th scale setup station pay today ships TODAY!! (MARYLAND) A Robinson. R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-27-2010 07:33 PM
Hudy 1/8'th scale setup station pay today ships TODAY!! (MARYLAND) A Robinson. R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-27-2008 04:17 PM
Guess the rc roadrashracing Chat Lounge 44 06-28-2007 09:54 PM
GUESS WHAT 20 SMOKE Florida Racing 2 06-02-2007 08:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net