R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2007, 08:08 AM   #1
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,111
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default faster way to charge starter box

Im looking for a faster to charge my starter box, with out using the forever charge of using a wall charger, or the battery of my car. Can I use my lrp pulsar to charge it?
__________________
K.C. Guy. Team Xray - rc america
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:20 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

I use my Ice to charge the battery in my boxes .
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:39 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,111
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Even if it is a Gel cell? I dont use regular batteries
__________________
K.C. Guy. Team Xray - rc america
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:43 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

I use gell cells in my starter boxes and yes I charge them with my Ice at home and a Dynamite Prophet Plus LCD if needed at the track .
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:44 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
DPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Where the fast guys are
Posts: 3,528
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

i use a 1 amp motor cycle charger it charges the battery in about 2-3 hours and you can put your battery on charge while you use it.
DPowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:46 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPowers View Post
i use a 1 amp motor cycle charger it charges the battery in about 2-3 hours and you can put your battery on charge while you use it.
no duh.. if you used the charger without putting the battery on charge it would jsut be a power supply...
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:51 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Default

While you were busy inventing smart a$s remarks, you didn't read the message and get the point. You cant use a starter box when its on charge usually.


Why do people have to be so damn hateful?
Scootersisters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:53 AM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 55
Default

(\__/)
(='.'=)
("')I("')
Scootersisters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:15 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sorry, didnt mean it to be that bad... i get what you mean now... you can buy a lead acid charger for about 20 in the UK. they will cahrge at up to about 5 amps. thats more than enough
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 08:57 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony montana View Post
Im looking for a faster to charge my starter box, with out using the forever charge of using a wall charger, or the battery of my car. Can I use my lrp pulsar to charge it?
I use my LRP pulsar to quick charge starter box 12V battery.

I set it 4A.

The peak will not be there, unless you are using 16V power supply.
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 01:11 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

I use a programmable Duratrax Pirhana charger. Have different settings to do my car, my receiver pack, my starter box, and my glow ignitor. About $50 and it rocks.
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 06:31 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,111
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

what else do you do besides to set it at 4 amps on the pulsar, Im using a novak n power for my power supply
__________________
K.C. Guy. Team Xray - rc america
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 06:57 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

I set delta peak 2 millivolt. Anyway, this delta peak number doesn't affect anything when charging 12V accu battery. The accu battery will not peak. Why? Your pulsar charger willl automatically reduce the amp when the voltage become so high, and it will give you warning " voltage too high ", or something like like that. The charging amp will go down as low as 0.1 Amp indicating not enough voltage from power supply to continue the charging process. At that point, just assume your accu battery is already full. Stop the charging process, and you are set.

As I said, you need high voltage power supply to charge properly accu battery. I use Muchmore power supply, and I can set the output voltage to 15.4V. Even this number is not enough to charge accu battery. Your Novak probably give out 13.8 V to 14.4 V. ( Unless you can find a pot to turn maximum voltage output ).

Be carefull, your LRP pulsar has maximum input voltage limit of 16V.

To properly charge accu battery, you need to buy 5A rating accu battery charger from automotive dept. store.
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 06:59 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
tim powers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: east islip, NY
Posts: 628
Default

get a deltran battery tender and leave it on all week...wont overcharge....
tim powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is FASTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ktmusa Nitro On-Road 40 05-22-2008 08:08 PM
which is faster/better chrisbcrunch Monster Trucks 3 07-08-2005 12:41 PM
Faster then yours! Barry White Electric On-Road 6 06-15-2005 06:17 AM
Faster?? piorc Electric Off-Road 18 02-19-2005 03:33 AM
how much faster nitro2electric Electric On-Road 1 09-11-2004 07:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net