R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2007, 04:09 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
chris72983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Meridian, Mississippi
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default X1-CR Runaway, Glitch? Please Help

I just built my new Jammin X1-CR with Jammin .21, JR Servos and Spektrum reciever. But I have huge problem, every now end then when you give it throttle it goes to full throttle and full left steering for a couple of seconds. I have tried to run the wiring every way you could think of with no change. I have also charged the reciever pack so I know its not that. I had the reviever and one of the two servos in a touring car and never had a problem with either one of them. I have been racing rc cars for over 10 years and have never had a glitch I couldnt figure out, but this one has blown my mind. I have been lucky so far, but I need some help before It ends up hitting something flipping over and blowing the motor up. Has anyone ever had a ploblem like this?

Any help would be great. Thanks
__________________
[COLOR="Magenta"][FONT="Arial"]Schumacher Mi3[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT="Arial"][COLOR="Lime"]Jammin X1CR[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR="black"][COLOR="Red"]North Hills Hobbies (601-696-9767) Meridian, MS[/COLOR][/COLOR]
chris72983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 04:41 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

check for any metal to metal contact points.. linkage, check the pipe connection to see if the rubber may be damaged allowing a metal to metal connection..
about the only thing I can think of with the spektrum... you could try rebinding the transciever
rregl0612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 08:32 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
chris72983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Meridian, Mississippi
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rregl0612 View Post
check for any metal to metal contact points.. linkage, check the pipe connection to see if the rubber may be damaged allowing a metal to metal connection..
about the only thing I can think of with the spektrum... you could try rebinding the transciever
The pipe connections are fine. What did you mean by linkage? What other metal to other metal points could cause it?
__________________
[COLOR="Magenta"][FONT="Arial"]Schumacher Mi3[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT="Arial"][COLOR="Lime"]Jammin X1CR[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR="black"][COLOR="Red"]North Hills Hobbies (601-696-9767) Meridian, MS[/COLOR][/COLOR]
chris72983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 08:36 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

i would try another reciever...
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 08:47 PM   #5
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Try a receiver with crystals. Spectrum systems have been known for roaming.
I had it happen from time to time with my sedan.I went back to the R200 FM.
I sure hope the new spectrum is better.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:01 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Try rebinding the tx and rx . I`ve ran Spektrum for years with no problems .
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:04 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default try another battery pack...

This has helped me too, maybe a loose connection.
Tmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:07 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jason Halvorson Send a message via MSN to Jason Halvorson
Default

ive had this happen with a bad battery conection...
Jason Halvorson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 04:00 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: midland,michigan
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

most of the time if your system is bound correctly the failsafe should kick in to a neutral steering position and throttle to idle or full brake. Make sure that it is bound that way 1st.

I've had two problems with spektrum glitching and one time it was a bad solder joint in my switch on the radio box. The other time it was a weak wire on the reciever pack. Try to run without the switch and see if it fixes the problem. You can also try a spare battery pack. Process of elimination my friend...

Good luck, you're dealing with the most frustrating part of the hobby...
cwalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 05:09 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
salteen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 1,595
Trader Rating: 90 (98%+)
Default

check your rx pack...

I have a brand new Team Orion pack and it will just randomly dump and shows the same results that you are experiencing. My Venom 1600 does a good job though

It may not be the battery but it's just an idea.
salteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 11:19 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
DR ZAIRUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Posts: 201
Default spec

Well, I had a similar problem with my Futaba FASST system. Was the laughingstock at the track, 'cause it would go dead all the time (both servos to neutral position).

Turned out both my Rx packs were faulty, dropping voltage unexpectedly, and the failsafe kicking in....it had me puzzled for a time, 'till I tried a third pack and it worked fine.

It might also be the switch . Try by-passing it and go over the connectors. Also, check the Rx antenna. A split cable inside it's plastic sleeve can go unnoticed and drive you nuts!!!

We're assuming the Tx works ok??....and you're sure your servos and Rx are compatible??

Hmmm, can't think of anything else now...
__________________
Hong Nor/Jammin' X2
Picco P7 Evo3+JP3
Futaba+KO Propo.
TEAM www.fisio-sport.com
(Valencia, Spain)
DR ZAIRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 11:22 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
salteen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 1,595
Trader Rating: 90 (98%+)
Default

^I was the laughing stock because as soon as I noticed the glitching I grabbed my buggy by the wing and it hit full throttle...sending a brand new set of bowties into the woods because I couldn't get to the flywheel fast enough and they came unglued....
salteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:41 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
chris72983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Meridian, Mississippi
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DR ZAIRUS View Post
Well, I had a similar problem with my Futaba FASST system. Was the laughingstock at the track, 'cause it would go dead all the time (both servos to neutral position).

Turned out both my Rx packs were faulty, dropping voltage unexpectedly, and the failsafe kicking in....it had me puzzled for a time, 'till I tried a third pack and it worked fine.

It might also be the switch . Try by-passing it and go over the connectors. Also, check the Rx antenna. A split cable inside it's plastic sleeve can go unnoticed and drive you nuts!!!

We're assuming the Tx works ok??....and you're sure your servos and Rx are compatible??

Hmmm, can't think of anything else now...

One of the sevros and the rx was in my sedan, and was working fine. The next thing Im going to try is a new power switch. If that dont fix it ill then try a rx pack. Earlier the first person that posted back mentioned metal to metal contact, but the pipe connections were fine. He also mentioned linkages. Does anyone know what he was talking about? Maybe where the brake linkages run through the loops? What types of failsafe is everyone running? With the problem I have now the failsafe in the spektrum isnt kicking in so I wouldnt think its loosing signal from the tx.
__________________
[COLOR="Magenta"][FONT="Arial"]Schumacher Mi3[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT="Arial"][COLOR="Lime"]Jammin X1CR[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR="black"][COLOR="Red"]North Hills Hobbies (601-696-9767) Meridian, MS[/COLOR][/COLOR]
chris72983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:43 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
chris72983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Meridian, Mississippi
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by salteen View Post
check your rx pack...

I have a brand new Team Orion pack and it will just randomly dump and shows the same results that you are experiencing. My Venom 1600 does a good job though

It may not be the battery but it's just an idea.
Come to think about it, I think the pack I have is an Orion.
__________________
[COLOR="Magenta"][FONT="Arial"]Schumacher Mi3[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT="Arial"][COLOR="Lime"]Jammin X1CR[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR="black"][COLOR="Red"]North Hills Hobbies (601-696-9767) Meridian, MS[/COLOR][/COLOR]
chris72983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:33 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I any metal to metal contact will do it.. your throttle linkage rubs on the aluminum post for ex..

Any of your linkages..could cause a problem check for rubbing metal to metal..


The pipe connection I had happen to me.. my seals went bad and it must have taken me 2 race days to figure out what the heck was causing this mysterious right turn glitching..

Assuming you tried Rebinding the Reciever to the TX..??

I have also had switches and batteries go bad on me .. deffinately worth a check.. even grab a buddies Batt just to see if there is any difference..
I know several racers here who have all together done away with switches for this purpose..

I will indeed say that glitching is by far the most annoying part of this hobby.. It ranks right up there with changing diff fluids..!!!!
rregl0612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
runaway car problems thinguy10 Electric Off-Road 10 10-18-2013 11:10 AM
DX2.0 Glitch? monkeyracing Radio and Electronics 3 03-25-2008 10:51 AM
Feedback For Runaway Imdadundada7 Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 0 03-06-2007 01:31 PM
runaway azfabguy Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 1 02-12-2007 02:37 PM
Stupid Curbs... I had a runaway B3boy Electric Off-Road 3 04-12-2003 05:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net