R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2007, 04:50 PM   #1
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default Whos using the turbo O'Donnell plug for the .28 Picco P3?

Hello All,

I am trying to figure out which plug I can use for the Picco .28 P3. Ofna is telling me it is best to use their plugs only. But they also mentioned that people are saying the O'Donnell plugs are working for them. Anyone of you guys out there are using the O'Donnell turbo plugs for the Picco .28 P3? And can you see any differences between using O'Donnell vs. Picco plugs?

Thanks!!!
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 05:40 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I used the OD97T's and OS P3's with that engine. I think the OS plugs were a bit better but the OD's were pretty darn good as well. Don't worry about using the Picco plugs if they aren't readily available to you.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 10:05 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

I just got through putting a tank in my new Picco P3. The O'Donnell plugs leaks!!! I guess it will be ok for the idle break-in. I guess i'll go ahead and order the Picco P3 plugs...
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 11:35 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
MiamizFinest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,040
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

i own 3 PICCO 28 P3's all turbo and i run OD cold plugs on all of them with OD 30% and ofcrouse add a 1.0 shim..........

ive enver had a plug leak
__________________
-= Made In Dade =-
MiamizFinest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 11:42 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You can actually put a little more pressure onto a turbo plug than you can a regular. I've never had a turbo plug leak so just try tightening it up a little more.

If you're going to order any plugs for this motor and you don't like the OD's, go to an OS P3.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 06:41 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
JeremyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 451
Default

I run a 97T in my P3, never had an issue with it.

If its leaking, your probably not tightening it enough. you can put quite alot of force in to tighting a turbo plug, because of the design of the taper, it is very hard to strip out a turbo buttons threads. I use the Dynamite wrench (the one with the red handle) and i tighten it pretty tight.
__________________
V-8 For life
Blue Oval Loyalist

If you ain't first....your last
JeremyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 09:49 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Maybe i need to tighten it more. Also, I am not using a shim. Is that ok or is it recommended. I am new on turbo plugs and the guy at the local shop said turbo plugs don't need shims.
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 05:22 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mt vernon il
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rhymster
Default

i use odonnell plugs in my p3 and they work fine. In fact this is only the second plug i have used with my engine and it has been thru almost 4 1/2 tanks of 30 nitro. but a glow plug is pretty much a glow plug.
rhymster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 05:30 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhymster View Post
i use odonnell plugs in my p3 and they work fine. In fact this is only the second plug i have used with my engine and it has been thru almost 4 1/2 tanks of 30 nitro. but a glow plug is pretty much a glow plug.
According to ofna, the glow plug has different fits. And they mentioned that Ofna's glow plug perfectly fits the Picco P3.

I tightened the plug pretty tight and the nitro was leaking from the plug while doing the idle break in stage of the P3.
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:33 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Illbreakthat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: With your sister!
Posts: 3,521
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I seriously disagree to any plug is just a plug. I have tryed several plugs in my TE P3 28 and nothing has been able to run as good in my engine as the O'Donnell i have ran the one 97T in it now for almost 2 gallons. Tell me thats not good!
__________________
Not much to put here....
Illbreakthat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O'Donnell #99T Turbo Plug johndayo101 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 07-17-2008 01:38 PM
Picco P3 .28 turbo plug motor xX*WildCat*Xx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 06-30-2007 10:01 AM
Turbo plug Vs Standard plug mrhenning11 Electric Off-Road 1 04-16-2007 08:20 AM
Turbo plug vs standard plug shortygy Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 08-13-2004 03:10 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net