R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 10-05-2007, 08:48 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Need advice on selecting a Buggy..

Hello, newbie here. I have been racing a Jammin X1-CR FTE for 2 seasons and would like to change buggies. I have been researching the top models for a while and have narrowed down to two - the XB8EC and the MBX5R. Parts availability is not a problem as I live in Wyoming so everything must be ordered. I am racing at a local track as well as Colorado, no bashing. The local track is somewhat technical with both large and small jumps. The dirt is packed clay and dusty. IS the XRay sturdy enough to take on large jumps? Is the Mugen out dated and heavy? I will be running a V-Spec in the new buggy.
What is your opinion? Does anyone have both that could give a representative opinion of the two? Thanks!
CJKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 08:58 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 4 (75%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jatoman1992

the mugen is probably your #1 choice, or Kyosho
Ofna Ultra LX Pro- Axial .28 1S w/ JP-2 Pipe, Hitec HS5645MG(steering) and Hitec HS625MG(Throttle/Brake)
Electric:
Losi Micro-T- stock
Coming soon: Associated FT B4- stock

Ofna LX Pro as a roller w/ extras- $150
Starter box(1/8 buggy) w/12V battery- $70
micro T- $50 OBO
Axial .28 1S- 6 gal. thru- $50 OBO
jatoman1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 09:29 AM   #3
Tech Adept

as of now i am driving the kyosho but thinking of getting the xb8ec i am also trying to make the same choice
thebeaumartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 09:50 AM   #4
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

if those are your only choices, I would Xray. I have had both, driven both and I personally was faster, more consistent with the xray.
free2day77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 09:56 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to windellmc